Netware 6.5 Install in Virtualbox

Discussions about using non Windows and Linux guests such as FreeBSD, DOS, OS/2, OpenBSD, etc.

Netware 6.5 Install in Virtualbox

Postby cgoetz » 29. Jun 2007, 02:01

Yes Netware 6.5 installs on VirtualBox !
----------------------------------------------
I succeeded installing Netware 6.5 as follow:

- set mem to 512 MB
- set video mem to 4 MB
- set floppy = freedos boot floppy / fd32e.img (avoid int 13 error)
- set cdrom = nw65sp6 boot iso 1
- configured disk 4.88 GB
- booted without error
- passed file copy to c:\nwinst (dos partition)
- passed hw scanning (hdetect) / returned to summary screen > continue
- selected pcntnw.lan network driver(3rd driver in the list)
- got to the netware os installation onto SYS:\

... hoping this will end correctly and run Netware6.5 ... enjoy.
cgoetz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. Jun 2007, 01:19

Postby Bigjake52 » 22. Dec 2007, 00:25

I hope this will work but i need some more ram to run it i hae to wait for 98 to stop
Bigjake52
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 21. Dec 2007, 04:54

Postby sudhakar » 8. May 2008, 17:57

At times the install asks for the CD/DVD in case if image is being used. Use the following commands then:

scan for new devices

list devices

cddvd.nss

volumes
sudhakar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 6. May 2008, 15:38

Postby sudhakar » 9. May 2008, 11:13

I had a problem in install. The iso dvd iso image gets dismounted in NetWare during install once in a while and it is irritating to "scan for new devices" every 1 to 5 minutes. After experimenting for some time, I observed that all other (four) VMs that I am running are slow and suspected some timing issue with dvd device because of which NetWare is unmounting it. So I closed all apps and VMs on host except for the NetWare VM. This has helped me and I did not see any problem there after.
sudhakar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 6. May 2008, 15:38

VirtualBox 1.6.51_OSE

Postby cgoetz » 25. Jun 2008, 21:58

I tested Netwar 6.5sp7 on VirtualBox 1.6.51_OSE (from svn) / No troubles at all !
VM Settings: memory = 750 MB ; video = 32 MB ; acpi = on ; ioapic = on ; dos floppy image (avoid int13 issue) ; audio = null

Ps: had some int13 troubles with binary release 1.6.2

-- cgoetz
cgoetz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 29. Jun 2007, 01:19

Postby sudhakar » 13. Oct 2008, 16:51

I still see the same problems and the workarounds working. However when I restart the system after some time the guest OS does not come up. When I increased the RAM to 1GB it worked.

Did not try installing the NetWare with more than 512 MB and the low memory could be the reason for the troubles. Will try installing with 1GB RAM next time.
sudhakar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 6. May 2008, 15:38

Postby czerny » 30. Oct 2008, 03:59

NOVELL NETWARE 6.5 SP7 WON'T WORK ON:

VM Manager VirtualBox 2.0.4
CPU Intel Pentium D 2.80Ghz 64bits
Host system Ubuntu 8.04 (latest kernel)
VHD 4GB o more...
RAM 1GB or more
VRAM 8/16/32MB
Enable ACPI On or Off both won't work
Enable IO/APIC On or Off both won't work

As the splash-screen is displayed the installation crashes,,, I also did try booting with "-nl" but I did not work anyway.
The last lines of log file say:

00:00:01.029 Display::handleDisplayResize(): uScreenId = 0, pvVRAM=00007f7e64de0000 w=640 h=480 bpp=32 cbLine=0xA00
00:00:03.484 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:03.488 Guest Log: BIOS: Booting from CD-ROM...
00:00:03.501 Display::handleDisplayResize(): uScreenId = 0, pvVRAM=0000000000000000 w=720 h=400 bpp=0 cbLine=0x0
00:00:16.129 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:43.411 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:43.513 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:43.651 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:43.704 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:44.541 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:45.372 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:47.332 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:47.393 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:47.511 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:47.841 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:51.991 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.101 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.251 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.300 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.451 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.501 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.671 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.715 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.741 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.789 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:53.541 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:53.613 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:53.651 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:54.181 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:56.461 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:57.032 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:01:20.701 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:01:23.481 Display::handleDisplayResize(): uScreenId = 0, pvVRAM=00007f7e64de0000 w=640 h=480 bpp=8 cbLine=0x280
czerny
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 30. Oct 2008, 03:45

Postby SnakeMedia » 1. Nov 2008, 10:54

czerny wrote:NOVELL NETWARE 6.5 SP7 WON'T WORK ON:

VM Manager VirtualBox 2.0.4
CPU Intel Pentium D 2.80Ghz 64bits
Host system Ubuntu 8.04 (latest kernel)
VHD 4GB o more...
RAM 1GB or more
VRAM 8/16/32MB
Enable ACPI On or Off both won't work
Enable IO/APIC On or Off both won't work

As the splash-screen is displayed the installation crashes,,, I also did try booting with "-nl" but I did not work anyway.
The last lines of log file say:

00:00:01.029 Display::handleDisplayResize(): uScreenId = 0, pvVRAM=00007f7e64de0000 w=640 h=480 bpp=32 cbLine=0xA00
00:00:03.484 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:03.488 Guest Log: BIOS: Booting from CD-ROM...
00:00:03.501 Display::handleDisplayResize(): uScreenId = 0, pvVRAM=0000000000000000 w=720 h=400 bpp=0 cbLine=0x0
00:00:16.129 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:43.411 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:43.513 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:43.651 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:43.704 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:44.541 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:45.372 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:47.332 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:47.393 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:47.511 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:47.841 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:51.991 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.101 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.251 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.300 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.451 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.501 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.671 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.715 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.741 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:52.789 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:53.541 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:53.613 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:53.651 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:54.181 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:56.461 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:57.032 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2000 (8192) - 145.65 Hz (ch=0)
00:01:20.701 PIT: mode=2 count=0x10000 (65536) - 18.20 Hz (ch=0)
00:01:23.481 Display::handleDisplayResize(): uScreenId = 0, pvVRAM=00007f7e64de0000 w=640 h=480 bpp=8 cbLine=0x280

Because your currect level of your idea, But it is not good. because NETWARE OS can not work sometimes while you set up worng. I think Help or Getting Started from VirtualBox. Or Sometime it gives a bug? I want to try with our netware os If it is not work. thx. Regards SnakeMedia
SnakeMedia
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 26. Oct 2008, 00:00

Postby sudhakar » 13. Nov 2008, 16:55

I have seen this problem. Some times it fails. In such cases it is best to install with VirtualBox on Windows host machine and copy the VM to Linux.
sudhakar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 6. May 2008, 15:38

Re: Netware 6.5 Install in Virtualbox

Postby jaylaprade » 11. Feb 2010, 00:49

Just to make this a little bit more clear:

If you are receiving this error when trying to install Netware:

fatal: int13_diskette_function

You should

1) Change the boot order from floppy, cdrom, .... to cdrom, floppy,.....

2) Download this file:

http://www.veder.com/ftp/nwdsk/fd32e.img

3) Mount that as a floppy

4) Mount your Netware iso as a cdrom

5) Start the boot, install


I seem to still have problems with the VBOX CD-ROM failing. Working on that. Will update if I figure that out.
jaylaprade
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 11. Feb 2010, 00:42
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Windows, Linuxes, FreeBSD, Haiku...

Re: Netware 6.5 Install in Virtualbox

Postby Nimonie » 3. May 2010, 07:22

I have been running into this issue for a while on Ubuntu. After some trying I disabled the VT-x/AMD-V and then the system booted up just like it should if you run in to a similar issue with Netware installing on Ubuntu give that a try.
Nimonie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 3. May 2010, 07:17
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Netware,Windows xp, Linux


Return to Other Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests