VBoxManage not working

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

VBoxManage not working

Postby Illyankesh » 24. May 2008, 00:26

The user manual refers to the VBoxManage command line tool/interface to do a bunch of things such as port forwarding that are not available in the GUI.

However I cannot get VBoxManage to open/operate.

When I enter the entire pathway and command, a small command window opens, and bunch of stuff whips past and then the small window vanishes.
I cannot seem to get a prompt even when entering the full pathway.

Is there another way to get to the VBoxManage command line tool?
Or am I doing something wrong/stupid.

I have a xp host, and am guesting a debian linux distro.
Illyankesh
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 23. May 2008, 00:42

Postby JohnG » 24. May 2008, 01:49

You have to first open a Command window (aka Console window), change to the VirtualBox program folder, and run the VBoxManage command from there.

See this post for an example of running VBoxManage (the "Output" section):
http://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?t=6199
JohnG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 23. Feb 2008, 00:51
Location: Canada

I'm sorry

Postby Illyankesh » 24. May 2008, 04:36

I'm sorry for being obtuse but that made no sense.

I went through the command line, and could move about, but when I hit the

C:\Program Files\Sun\xVM VirtualBox>VBoxManage.exe clonevdi "D:\VirtualBox\VirtualDrives\W98_1.vdi" "D:\VirtualBox\VirtualDrives\W98_1_test2.vdi"

I got nothing but is "not recognized as an internal or external command"

I'm running winxp SP2 if that helps at all.
Illyankesh
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 23. May 2008, 00:42

Postby JohnG » 24. May 2008, 05:12

Are you familiar with running DOS commands in a Command window?
If not, you need to google for a how-to.

1. open a Command window
(either from the Start menu (Start | Accessories | Command Prompt), or: Start | Run | cmd)
2. change directory to the root of the C: drive (by typing: cd\ + [Enter])
(this assumes you installed VBox somewhere on the C: drive)
3. change directory to the VirtualBox program folder
4. run your VBoxManage command
(eg: VBoxManage CloneVdi source_file_path target_file_path)
JohnG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 23. Feb 2008, 00:51
Location: Canada


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mpack and 14 guests