kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.

kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby udippel » 23. Oct 2014, 22:31

I have downloaded the lastest Kubuntu Plasma5 Preview, 32 bit.
I *think* it is correct (they don't give checksums).
When i set up a VM, it boots, blablabla, even seems to start X (size of black window increases), but the screen remains black. When I swap in an older version of the bootable Plasma (neon5, August 14th), everything is okay. So the machine must be set up properly, in principle.

Does anyone have a clue on what goes on?

Removed useless data
udippel
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 1. Aug 2008, 05:01

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby Perryg » 23. Oct 2014, 23:21

Post the complete guests log file ( as an attachment )
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby loukingjr » 24. Oct 2014, 00:48

I believe they are using Wayland.

edit: maybe... trying to install it now.

nope, not Wayland. Running for me and with the GAs installed.

note: after I created an Ubuntu 32bit guest and booted the .iso, the screen was multi-colored pixelated junk and very wide and skinny. I dropped into the cli, typed "startx" and it restarted into the desktop. from there I installed it to the .vdi and it booted straight to the desktop. no funky screen first. 3D Acceleration has to be disabled

installed with the daily build .iso btw. and they have checksums listed on the page.
Attachments
Plasma.jpg
Plasma.jpg (71.31 KiB) Viewed 3864 times
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8827
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby udippel » 24. Oct 2014, 21:22

Perryg wrote:Post the complete guests log file ( as an attachment )


Okay, here it is. I can only hope it helps. It is the file until the screen remains large, and black, and no more activity takes place.
Attachments
Plasma5_Preview_blackscreened.log
(46.3 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
udippel
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 1. Aug 2008, 05:01

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby Perryg » 24. Oct 2014, 21:38

VirtualBox has not ( AFAIK ) worked up a build for plasma yet.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby udippel » 24. Oct 2014, 21:44

Perryg wrote:VirtualBox has not ( AFAIK ) worked up a build for plasma yet.


Okay! So the neon5 from August (which, I can confirm, IS Plasma) just so happened to work coincidentally.
Alright, thanks for the insight!

Uwe
udippel
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 1. Aug 2008, 05:01

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby loukingjr » 24. Oct 2014, 22:17

Once again, I have to wonder why it's working for me. I must have one of those miracle Macs. 8)
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8827
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby Perryg » 24. Oct 2014, 22:23

Guys I said AFAIK. It is possible but just like Wayland it might not work properly if at all.
I can test it but the only builds I have are in the future right now which would not prove that the release version will work.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby loukingjr » 24. Oct 2014, 22:29

Perryg wrote:Guys I said AFAIK. It is possible but just like Wayland it might not work properly if at all.
I can test it but the only builds I have are in the future right now which would not prove that the release version will work.

Actually I wasn't replying to your post Perry. I was just thinking out loud and wondering why it's not working for udippel.

I would mention with 3D disabled it's about as fast as any guest I have with 3D enabled.
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8827
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby udippel » 27. Oct 2014, 20:15

Careful please!
The one that works at your side is the daily update. I downloaded from http://www.kubuntu.org/getkubuntu
and mine is a different name from yours. And my download of a, yes, Plasma5 in August also starts.
I dunno about your pipe, but if yours is wide enough, why not download and try as well?
Here to make sure we talk about the same image:
$ md5sum OSes/kubuntu-plasma5-14.10-desktop-i386.iso
fb4c2efcfb9c23339c01ebde6541b1a9 OSes/kubuntu-plasma5-14.10-desktop-i386.iso
udippel
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 1. Aug 2008, 05:01

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby loukingjr » 27. Oct 2014, 21:46

udippel wrote:Careful please!
The one that works at your side is the daily update. I downloaded from http://www.kubuntu.org/getkubuntu
and mine is a different name from yours. And my download of a, yes, Plasma5 in August also starts.
I dunno about your pipe, but if yours is wide enough, why not download and try as well?
Here to make sure we talk about the same image:
$ md5sum OSes/kubuntu-plasma5-14.10-desktop-i386.iso
fb4c2efcfb9c23339c01ebde6541b1a9 OSes/kubuntu-plasma5-14.10-desktop-i386.iso

Downloaded the image from your link. Behaved the same as the one from the daily build site. Here is a screenshot of the two running together. The one with the clock widget is my original.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 3.41.15 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 3.41.15 PM.jpg (116.56 KiB) Viewed 3779 times
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8827
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby udippel » 27. Oct 2014, 22:06

Good! - Now I'd ask you to export your settings, in case you don't mind, of course. Then I could set up that same machine, and we'd be a tad wiser.
udippel
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 1. Aug 2008, 05:01

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby loukingjr » 27. Oct 2014, 22:18

udippel wrote:Good! - Now I'd ask you to export your settings, in case you don't mind, of course. Then I could set up that same machine, and we'd be a tad wiser.

did you read my note in my first post?

the only thing I changed from the Ubuntu 32bit template was I increased the RAM to 2048 and the VRAM to 64. What is important is when you first start the guest with the .iso attached and you get the black screen is to press Alt-F2 to drop into the CLI and type startx which will take you to the desktop so you can install Kubuntu to the .vdi as my note said. :)
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8827
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby udippel » 28. Oct 2014, 20:06

I understand.
But it beats me how you got into CLI. I have the black screen in front of me, and no way to issue an Alt-F2. Nor any Ctrl-Alt-Backspace. My machine seems just dead!?
2048 MB RAM, 64 MB Video, no acceleration enabled, ubuntu 32 bit from scratch. I am running on a Linux host, kubuntu 64 bit. Should not make any difference, and yet; it doesn't drop into CLI.

Any further suggestion?
udippel
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 1. Aug 2008, 05:01

Re: kubuntu-plasma5_14_10_i386 fails to display

Postby loukingjr » 28. Oct 2014, 21:13

not sure what you mean by you can't issue an Alt-F2. You just hold down the Alt key and press the F2 function key.
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8827
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Next

Return to Linux Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests