Ubuntu 8.04 host interface broke after 1.6 upgrade

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.

Ubuntu 8.04 host interface broke after 1.6 upgrade

Postby cornbread » 2. May 2008, 22:30

Was working fine with 1.5.6 i upgraded to 1.6 and now windows can't pull an ip address. I tried to set it back up with sudo VBoxAddIF vbox0 cornbread br0. It said it set it up and it still doesn't work.

TIA for the help.
cornbread
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 22. Dec 2007, 05:36

Postby hege » 2. May 2008, 22:39

My networking broke after I upgraded to 1.6 also. It seems PCnet adapter is b0rked in this version. After changing to Intel 1000/MT virtual adapter, my XP and Linux guests started working again..
hege
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 3. Oct 2007, 09:16
Location: Finland

Postby eculpepper » 2. May 2008, 23:48

i'm having a similar problem with the pcnet nic not working after 'upgrading' from 1.5.6 to 1.6 with the commercial binary. i've tried to configure the intel pro nic but it doesn't want to connect to the dhcp server through the bridge anymore. this is on sles 10 host and windows xp sp3 guest.
eculpepper
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2. May 2008, 23:46

Postby eculpepper » 3. May 2008, 00:18

as a reply to myself i can get the intel pro/1000 driver to work if i set the network to NAT, however if i set it back to host interface and vbox0 as the device, then nothing works.

i guess i'll be re-installing 1.5.6 and waiting for an update to the 1.6 versions. :?
eculpepper
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2. May 2008, 23:46

Nice

Postby cornbread » 3. May 2008, 16:04

sounds like we've found a common theme. I wonder if what the devs have to say.
cornbread
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 22. Dec 2007, 05:36

Postby DeanoUk » 4. May 2008, 14:46

After realising host interface networking is b0rked in 1.6, I've tried using NAT - on both the AMD and Intel nics, but still I can't get net access. Quite frustrating.

Wouldn't mind trying a 1.5x version but there's nothing on the downloads page.
DeanoUk
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 4. May 2008, 13:28

Postby Sasquatch » 4. May 2008, 14:56

See http://www.virtualbox.org/download for older versions. It's strange that you don't have anything working with NAT, as I have no problems with it. Host interface same story, working just fine on Linux (Xubuntu 8.04). With Windows I do have some problems, but that could be my firewall too.
Do you use the Intel/Pro1000 NIC emulation?
Last edited by Sasquatch on 5. May 2008, 11:59, edited 1 time in total.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Postby hege » 4. May 2008, 15:31

hege
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 3. Oct 2007, 09:16
Location: Finland

Postby Peri_quete » 4. May 2008, 18:14

same problem.

change to intel pro/1000 and works

Host: ubuntu 8.04,
Guest: Windows XP SP3
Peri_quete
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 4. May 2008, 17:59

link to drivers

Postby cornbread » 5. May 2008, 07:27

can someone link me or post the drivers? my xp sp2 install can't find them... TIA
cornbread
 
Posts: 82
Joined: 22. Dec 2007, 05:36

Postby hege » 5. May 2008, 07:32

hege
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 3. Oct 2007, 09:16
Location: Finland

Postby objectref » 5. May 2008, 10:26

Hi,

i am new to Virtual Box and i have succesfully added a VM with Windows XP inside my Ubuntu 8.04.

I have the 1.5 version (OSE) and i want to ask what i should do to upgrade to 1.6 ? Do i have to dowload the binary file from here http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads ("Binaries (all platforms")

run it and it will upgrade my 1.5 installation, or i must do something else ?

Thanks in advance,

anthony
objectref
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 5. May 2008, 10:22

Postby Sasquatch » 5. May 2008, 12:00

Why do people first ask before they try? Sun made sure that every step that is needed for the upgrade is taken care of in the installer. For Linux, just run the package as root and it's good to install. I upgraded mine just fine. Opened the package, hit Install, and voilá, done.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Postby objectref » 5. May 2008, 12:06

Sasquatch wrote:Why do people first ask before they try?


Because i tried to install it and returned an error message at 03:30 am last night and i haven't had the eyes to track it down...So i believed that i made something wrong.

Sun made sure that every step that is needed for the upgrade is taken care of in the installer. For Linux, just run the package as root and it's good to install. I upgraded mine just fine. Opened the package, hit Install, and voilá, done.


Maybe the error was that i didn't run under root priviledges, i will try that first thing i got home tonight.
objectref
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 5. May 2008, 10:22

Postby Frank Mehnert » 5. May 2008, 14:06

All these problems with host networking interfaces are quite strange. I just installed a fresh Hardy / i386 here and VirtualBox 1.6.0 on top of it. Set up host networking as described in the manual (same as with 1.5.6) and it works fine. Please could someone of you attach a VBox.log file to http://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/1471 ? Please use a log file from a session when hostif doesn't work.
Frank Mehnert
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2517
Joined: 7. Jun 2007, 09:11
Location: Dresden, Germany
Primary OS: Debian Lenny
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows

Next

Return to VirtualBox on Linux Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests