MacOS X beta 3 released!

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.

MacOS X beta 3 released!

Postby frank » 6. Feb 2008, 18:42

innotek today released an updated beta of VirtualBox for OS X, marking yet another important milestone to the completion of the OS X version. The new version sports seamless guest support and live dock tiles as well as numerous improvements and bug fixes. It goes without saying that it runs on the most recent version of OS X (Leopard).

The beta can be downloaded from http://www.virtualbox.de/wiki/Downloads

Have fun!
frank
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: 7. Jun 2007, 09:11
Location: Dresden, Germany
Primary OS: Debian Sid
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows

Postby m@riposa » 6. Feb 2008, 20:30

Thank you very very very much.
This official release has been awaited for such a long time.
As far as I can tell until now, it works great.

Thanks.
m@riposa
Volunteer
 
Posts: 137
Joined: 29. Nov 2007, 00:11

Postby Son of a Beach » 7. Feb 2008, 05:25

Hey, thanks heaps for this. You guys are doing a great job.

Is there still no bridged networking available on the Mac OS X version though? When is this likely to be added?
Son of a Beach
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 12. Jul 2007, 06:22
Location: Tasmania

Postby Eberbachl » 7. Feb 2008, 05:37

Many thanks for the update!

Does inter-guest networking operate now?

That's what I really need.

;)
Eberbachl
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 15. Jun 2007, 07:11
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Thanks

Postby pvmstg » 7. Feb 2008, 15:23

3 things

First thanks

Second maybe the install should leave choice for install in user or admin place or it is necessary to always install in admin place...

Third, I try to install my win2k but.. always fail. I put it in a folder on my harddrive, burn it on my mac, burn on my pc but no way to start. My cd is booting in my pc, show on my mac untill virtual box is lunch and then, the cd icon vanish and the install faill because of no media... (i use the wizard to win2k preparation disk start vb from user and admin account). No bootable media found....


:roll:
pvmstg
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 28. Jan 2008, 14:01

sorry

Postby pvmstg » 7. Feb 2008, 15:26

I'm on 10,4,11

I just find that autorun and booting cd are not the same... Will try again when I will convert my win2K cd to a bootable cd... Sorry.
Last edited by pvmstg on 8. Feb 2008, 16:10, edited 1 time in total.
pvmstg
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 28. Jan 2008, 14:01

Thank You Very Much

Postby infinull » 8. Feb 2008, 10:29

OK So this is great, to be able to run windows beside OS X -- mainly for IE, but also maybe for games.

However, I can't seem to get clipboard sharing to work (additions installed, bidirectional set in settings, but it doesn't go either way)

Seamless mode is great.
Expose doesn't work, but this seems to be the desired behaviour?
Because it doesn't work with expose it also doesn't work with spaces -- vb could be assigned one "space", that would be a nice setup actually, but seamless windows cannot be dragged between spaces.

This all seems to be because the windows are created modal or with some other attribute -- its the kind of thing I see when a window is not tied to a dock icon.

I'm not berating you guys -- this is a beta after all, just making sure you're aware of the issues -- also I want to know what your plan of attack is for fixing things (what order?)
infinull
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 8. Feb 2008, 10:19

Postby swiney » 8. Feb 2008, 18:28

Thanks!
swiney
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 14. Jan 2008, 03:55

BSOD

Postby GenieNitro » 9. Feb 2008, 01:26

Hi there,

I've just upgraded from Beta 2 to Beta 3.
Do need to do a full windws install?

I set up a new machine using my old vdi files but get a Blue Screen of Death whenever I try to boot the machine.

It says "A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer."

Later it says:

"Technical information:
***STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF87D6640, 0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000"

cheers

Steve
GenieNitro
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 10. Aug 2007, 23:57

Postby bleedingout » 9. Feb 2008, 16:41

@GenieNitro:

I´ve tried the same thing and made the same expierience.
Worked fine with Linux but my XP also crashes with a bluescreen.
bleedingout
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 29. Dec 2007, 19:09

Postby m@riposa » 9. Feb 2008, 18:54

@GenieNitro,bleedingout: Try this: Settings->General->Advanced->IDE Controller Type->PIIX3.
m@riposa
Volunteer
 
Posts: 137
Joined: 29. Nov 2007, 00:11

Postby edwardedwards08 » 9. Feb 2008, 19:46

By the way, I can't believe how stable this baby is, both in refusing to crash and -- more important -- lacking a memory leak. Heck, Apple's Safari Browser slowly eats away at your system memory, and THIS doesn't?

Wow...
edwardedwards08
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 7. Feb 2008, 19:33

Postby bleedingout » 9. Feb 2008, 20:11

It goes without saying that it runs on the most recent version of OS X (Leopard).


oh, ah... ? hm...
it goes without saying...

DOES it run on leopard or does it NOT?

oder auf deutsch:
tüdelt das nun unter leopard oder nicht? :-)

I´m still running tiger just because of VB.

Thanks in advance for a clear statement
bleedingout
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 29. Dec 2007, 19:09

Postby m@riposa » 9. Feb 2008, 20:31

@bleedingout: Es tüdelt. Kannst upgraden ;)
m@riposa
Volunteer
 
Posts: 137
Joined: 29. Nov 2007, 00:11

Postby bleedingout » 9. Feb 2008, 20:49

@m@ripos: das ist ein wort! :-)
bleedingout
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 29. Dec 2007, 19:09

Next

Return to VirtualBox on Mac OS X Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests