Disable LAN vpn only for windows VM

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Js333

Disable LAN vpn only for windows VM

Post by Js333 »

- I have the latest Virtual Box, Extension Pack and Guest Additions running
- Windows 10 22H2 Guest 64bit assigned 2.6 ram
- Windows 11 Host 64bit with 8gb total ram

I have an Asus Router flashed with Merlin so I am able to tunnel clients through the VPN or not with policy rules which I have added as an image to this post. I have also attached a picture of the network settings of the VM.

I am new to networking so could someone help me to make the VM become a client on my network instead of piggybacking through my host. I want this so I am able to isolate the VM and disable VPN for it. By the way, I apologise if this isn't the appropriate place to post this question.

Thanks
Attachments
network.png
network.png (37.49 KiB) Viewed 1159 times
vpn-network.png
vpn-network.png (74.63 KiB) Viewed 1159 times
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Disable LAN vpn only for windows VM

Post by scottgus1 »

You'd probably want to use Bridged instead of NAT. Bridged goes around the host network stack, whereas NAT goes through it.

Virtualbox Networks: In Pictures
Js333

Post by Js333 »

I will give that a try soon. Is there an option if I decided to use wifi instead of ethernet that I could still have the same setup or would it only be through ethernet? I think I've tried bridged before with wifi and it didn't work on my hardware.

If it could work, do you have a good article to help me setup bridged with wifi too? Thanks
scottgus1
Site Moderator

Post by scottgus1 »

You can try Bridged through Wi-Fi, simply by selecting the Wi-Fi adapter to Bridge to. However, per the linked tutorial, Bridged doesn't always work with Wi-Fi. No way to predict if yours will work or not except to try it.

If you can't Bridge over Wi-Fi, then you have to stay on wired ethernet.