Unable to open Windows 10 on openSUSE 15.5

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
JKnott

Unable to open Windows 10 on openSUSE 15.5

Post by JKnott »

I recently updated my computer from openSUSE 15.4 to 15.5. Since then, I cannot run Windows. When I start the VM, it reaches the point where I have to press Enter, to get to the screen where I enter my password. However, when I do, the panel with the password box briefly flashes and leaves me back where I was. I tried going back to 15.4, but the problem remains. This started when I replace a spinning disk with SSD and did a fresh install of 15.5, retaining only my /home partition.

Doing the same on my ThinkPad, where I had previously replaced the drive, also SSD though a while ago, works fine.

I have been running Oracle VM on both systems for several years, starting with Windows 7 and both systems have had disk replacements and a few generations of openSUSE. This is the first time I've had a problem. One thing, I usually just upgrade an existing openSUSE, rather than a fresh install.

Any ideas?

tnx jk
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Unable to open Windows 10 on openSUSE 15.5

Post by scottgus1 »

Please start the VM from full normal shutdown, not save-state. Run until you see the problem happen, then shut down the VM from within the VM's OS if possible. If not possible, close the Virtualbox window for the VM with the Power Off option set.

Right-click the VM in the main Virtualbox window's VM list, choose Show in Explorer/Finder/File Manager. In the "Logs" subfolder, zip the VM's "vbox.log", and post the zip file, using the forum's Attachments tab. (Configure your host OS to show all extensions so you can find the "vbox.log", not "vbox.log.1", etc.)
JKnott

Post by JKnott »

By "power off" I assume you mean ACPI shutdown, as I don't see any power off option anywhere, as I cannot get into W10, to use it's power off.