Installing software on Win95 guest doesn't recognize specs

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
tjdickinson

Installing software on Win95 guest doesn't recognize specs

Post by tjdickinson »

I'm brand new to Virtualbox and I've just set up a Windows 95 VM in order to run an old piece of 16-bit software that won't run on Windows 11 (host). However, when I try to install it, the pre-installation system check doesn't seem to recognize the correct specs.
  • Processor is OK.
  • It says it needs 8 Mb memory, and it identifies 0 Mb, with the warning 'You need more memory'. When setting up the VM, I assigned it 256 Mb memory.
  • It says it needs 256 colors. It says I have 0 colors, but it says 'OK'. The color setting is True Color (32 Colors).
  • Sound, DOS, and WIN are OK.
I have no idea what to do in order to fix the memory problem. I'm grateful for any advice you can give me.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Installing software on Win95 guest doesn't recognize specs

Post by scottgus1 »

There may be some things to try here: Tutorial: Windows 95/98 guest OSes
tjdickinson

Post by tjdickinson »

scottgus1 wrote: 8. Nov 2023, 22:35 There may be some things to try here: Tutorial: Windows 95/98 guest OSes
Thanks, Scottgus1. I'd had a look at that, but nothing seems to fit the bill. In the meantime, while trying to get full resolution, I seem to have screwed something up... First, it no longer shuts down; when it gets to the 'Windows is shutting down' screen, it just sits there and doesn't change. Then, whenever I boot the guest, it gets to the desktop, gives me the hourglass, and then goes to a black screen with a blinking cursor in the upper left, and towards the lower right, there's a horizontal red rectangle with 7 or 8 blinking black-outlined squares, and a grey cursor on the right of it. I'm not able to do anything but power off via VirtualBox.