Windows Ping and Change Ip

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Post Reply
Shaka88
Posts: 2
Joined: 25. Sep 2023, 17:45

Windows Ping and Change Ip

Post by Shaka88 »

Good morning everyone!

I'll try to explain my problem to you as clearly as possible.

I have a machine with VirtualBox with Ubuntu with IP 10.0.2.15
And I have two Windows machines with Ip 10.10.11.95 and 96
The two Windows machines contact each other (Firewall Off)
VirtualBox with Ubuntu can ping Window

Windows can't ping Ubuntu.

I don't understand where the problem is.
The connection inside VirtualBox is in NAT
I also tried in Bridge but it doesn't work.

I wanted to change Ubuntu's IP to 10.10.11.*
But I can't do it. I would like to do everything in a single network.

Can you help me? Thank you
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 20965
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Windows Ping and Change Ip

Post by scottgus1 »

Shaka88 wrote: 25. Sep 2023, 17:54 The connection inside VirtualBox is in NAT
Is this true for all the VMs?

Right-click each VM in the main Virtualbox window's VM list, choose Show in Explorer/Finder/File Manager. Copy the VM's .vbox file (not the .vbox-prev file) to the desktop (Configure your host OS to show all extensions if the folder that opens does not show a .vbox file). Zip all the .vbox files and post the zip file, using the forum's Attachments tab.
Shaka88
Posts: 2
Joined: 25. Sep 2023, 17:45

Re: Windows Ping and Change Ip

Post by Shaka88 »

It's just a virtual machine with Ubuntu
The other two Windows machines are physical
Attachments
Which?
Which?
mhh.png (11.44 KiB) Viewed 560 times
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 20965
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Windows Ping and Change Ip

Post by scottgus1 »

OK, so the one Ubuntu VM is on NAT. The physical PCs cannot ping the Ubuntu VM because NAT is in the way. Please see Virtualbox Networks: In Pictures: NAT. There is no port to open to allow Ping through, because Ping doesn't use ports.

So we have to get the VM to use Bridged, so it can be out on the LAN. Virtualbox Networks: In Pictures: Bridged Adapter
Shaka88 wrote: 25. Sep 2023, 17:54 I also tried in Bridge but it doesn't work.
What happens when you try Bridged in the VM?
Post Reply