Copy paste not working in VB 7.0.10

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
nexturejohn

Copy paste not working in VB 7.0.10

Post by nexturejohn »

I have been using VirtualBox for many years on a Windows 10 host, with a Lubuntu 20.04 environment. I was using version VB 6.1.46, with the Extension Pack, and GuestAdditions, which I need to resize windows and for copy/paste from and to the Windows host.
On upgrading to VBox V7.0.10, while the re-sizing still works, I have been unable to get the copy/paste mechanism to work.
- if I keep GuestAdditions 6.1.46 on VB 7.0.10, the copy/paste works
- as soon as I upgrade GuestAdditions to 7.0.10, the copy/paste no longer works
- if I then manually force GA 6.1.46 again, the copy/paste works again.
Any ideas? It looks like a GA problem (I use VBoxLinuxAdditions.run to install GA).
The major difference between 6.1.46 and V7 is the python installation, but I don't install the python parts in any of the VB releases, and so do not include this in the installation. According to the various forum comments I have seen, python is not needed for simple installations like mine, where I basically only use VB to provide a UNIX environment on my PC for web development. I do need though to be able to copy and paste between the two environments.
FX8370core

Re: Copy paste not working in VB 7.0.10

Post by FX8370core »

Does the guest have the kernel headers installed for the kernel running?
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Copy paste not working in VB 7.0.10

Post by scottgus1 »

FX8370core may have something, here. Guest Additions have prerequisites in Linux, same as Virtualbox on the host, see https://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch04. ... ions-linux and https://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch02. ... nux-prereq

If following these instructions does not restore proper operation, please post a VM log: