VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Post Reply
PeterUK
Posts: 27
Joined: 17. Nov 2021, 02:26

VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by PeterUK »

VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state go back to 7.0.8 all it fine
Attachments
Screenshot 2023-07-21 180135.png
Screenshot 2023-07-21 180135.png (98.23 KiB) Viewed 1677 times
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 20965
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by scottgus1 »

Saved states often don't survive a Virtualbox version change. Be sure to shut the VM down from within the VM's OS, not save state, before upgrading.
PeterUK
Posts: 27
Joined: 17. Nov 2021, 02:26

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by PeterUK »

so you have tested this your end?

I remove all snapshots when in 7.0.8 install 7.0.10 add a snapshot it loads up fine save the machine state then reopen it get application error
Horsa
Posts: 20
Joined: 27. Jan 2019, 16:46

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by Horsa »

I've been getting this error for a couple of weeks now. It reads "The instruction at 0x00007FF896249DSA referenced memory at 0x000002AABEE202B6. The memory could not be written." I thought maybe Virtualbox had got corrupted and reinstalled it but the error persists.
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5635
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by fth0 »

Please reproduce the issue, starting with a VM in the Powered Off state. In the Application Error dialog, press the OK button. Then provide a detailed description of what you did and a zip file containing the VBox.log and VBox.log.1 files from that VM.
Horsa
Posts: 20
Joined: 27. Jan 2019, 16:46

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by Horsa »

Thanks - but I can't get to the Powered Off state. My Windows 11 machine is in Aborted-Saved state.
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5635
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by fth0 »

The Aborted-Saved state was introduced only recently. Isn't it possible to select Machine > Discard Saved State...? If not, just start the VM and close it as soon as possible, before the crash. It doesn't matter if you're in the Aborted or Powered Off state afterwards, I just want to see all log files from a clean start up to the problem.
Horsa
Posts: 20
Joined: 27. Jan 2019, 16:46

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by Horsa »

Thank you - I did your Discard Saved State and that reverted the machine to Powered Off. I then started the machine which carried out a few actions before the error message I wrote out earlier. I clicked the OK to close the error message. I have zipped the logs - there are only 2; VBox.log and VBoxHardening.log.

Thanks for your interest.
Attachments
Logs.zip
(78.56 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5635
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by fth0 »

You've been using VirtualBox 7.0.8 r156879 to restore a saved state from a VM previously saved by the newer VirtualBox version 7.0.9 r157502. While trying to gracefully abort the failing VM start, VirtualBox crashed with an unhandled exception.

Since there have been several bugfixes in the VirtualBox 7.0.10 graphics drivers, I'll make an educated guess that no-one will be interested in looking deeper into this crash.

PS: Note that your post does not even match the title of this thread. It would have been better to start your own thread instead of sailing under a false flag. No hard feelings intended!
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5635
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by fth0 »

PeterUK wrote: 23. Jul 2023, 14:24 I remove all snapshots when in 7.0.8 install 7.0.10 add a snapshot it loads up fine save the machine state then reopen it get application error
Probably the same issue as #21773 (Virtualbox 7.0.10 Snapshot run creates error " Referenced memory" "The memory could not be written").
Horsa
Posts: 20
Joined: 27. Jan 2019, 16:46

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by Horsa »

Thank you fth0. I went back to an earlier version of Virtualbox in the hope that it would work as I was getting the error message in the latest version. What is odd (to me at least) is that I have Windows XP and Windows 10 machines which work fine - it's the Windows 11 machine that plays up.
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5635
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by fth0 »

Horsa wrote: 28. Jul 2023, 09:38 What is odd (to me at least) is that I have Windows XP and Windows 10 machines which work fine - it's the Windows 11 machine that plays up.
I'd guess that the (virtual) TPM only gets corrupted when running the Windows 11 guest OS. There have been reported other issues with the virtual TPM, and I think there could be a connection.
Panki
Posts: 11
Joined: 23. Aug 2019, 09:46

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by Panki »

Hi, today how i fix this now, i discard snapshot and shutdown.
And after i switch off TPM to None. and after i restart and take snapshot and now this version 7.0.10 is able to start my snapshot. So problem is if TPM enabled
and you taking snapshot. But this problem was not in 7.0.8 version.
I hope in coming version they will fix it and we did not need to off the TPM while taking snapshot.
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5635
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: VirtualBox 7.0.10 not load from snapshot saved state

Post by fth0 »

This issue should be fixed in the VirtualBox test builds 7.0.11r159210 and newer.
Post Reply