Page 1 of 1

Using VBoxManage to configure network adapters

Posted: 16. Nov 2022, 23:09
by currishhuntsman
I'm creating a script that can automatically create VMs with lots of customizable options. The problem I am running into is that each host machine running this script will have different bridged adapters. When creating network adapters in the GUI it automatically configures the adapter to a default name. So I was thinking there should be a way to automatically select a default name using VBoxManage like this:

VBoxManage.exe modifyvm test --bridgeadapter2 'default'

I've looked through the manual already and couldn't find any mention of this. So I'm wondering if this even exists at all in VBoxManage because it would make my life a lot easier :D

Thank you in advance and I will provide any additional information if needed.

Re: Using VBoxManage to configure network adapters

Posted: 16. Nov 2022, 23:34
by scottgus1
There's no 'default' for the host adapter Bridged connects to. Some hosts have more than one network adapter. Typical for some laptops is wired Ethernet and Wi-Fi. Other hosts can have two or more wired Ethernet adapters. Which is the default? The main Virtualbox window may have a "first in the list" setup in the code. But command line doesn't that I've ever seen.

You can use the command:

vboxmanage list bridgedifs

to find out what, if any, adapters Bridged can attach to, feed the list to your script, then pick according to your algorithm which adapter to use. Note that Bridged does not always work with Wi-Fi.

Re: Using VBoxManage to configure network adapters

Posted: 16. Nov 2022, 23:52
by currishhuntsman
That definitely works! The way I was trying to do it was by using ipconfig/ifconfig to filter out the name of the NIC that is used in VirtualBox. Thanks again.