Making Virtual Space Larger

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Making Virtual Space Larger

Postby CondemnMe » 19. Mar 2009, 18:21

I chose a virtual space of 10gb, and chose to have an expanding amount of space. When I went to install a game onto my virtual machine, the installer would not install the game because there was not enough space (i needed about 2.5gb more). The installer doesn't realize that it is an expanding amount of space, so it thinks I have no room for the installation.
How do I make this space larger? Preferably changing my 10gb to 15gb.
Thanks in advanced!
CondemnMe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 26. Feb 2009, 00:02


Re: Making Virtual Space Larger

Postby CondemnMe » 19. Mar 2009, 21:16

I followed the instructions and I'm still stuck.
I copy and pasted my working partition into a larger partition using gparted. (http://gparted.sourceforge.net/larry/move/move.htm)
When I came to this part:
Windows cant bear windows ! So, just turn off the PC, unplug both hard drives, and plug the new one as master, leaving the other one for the moment.
I went to my hard disk settings and released the old partition and kept the larger partition. I set this new partition to Primary Master.
Then I went into recovery console by mounting this iso as the cd drive: http://www.thecomputerparamedic.com/files/rc.iso
I typed "Fixboot" into recovery console like it says here: http://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?p=29276#29276
Nothing happened. So I typed "fixboot c" and it spewed out a message saying "FIXBOOT is writing a new boot sector The new bootsector was written succesfully."
I shut down. Started the guest back up and it just had a black screen and a single white underscore "_"

edit: By the way, thanks for the quit reply!
CondemnMe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 26. Feb 2009, 00:02

Re: Making Virtual Space Larger

Postby vbox4me2 » 19. Mar 2009, 21:26

Here we go again... (sounds like a song :lol: )

1. Create new VM-Harddisk
2. Attach this disk as second disk to VM
3. Boot VM with clonezilla liveCD
4. Clone old VDI to new VDI (see 1+2)
5. Boot VM with gparted liveCD
6. Resize new VDI
7. Swap VM-Harddisk (New VDI -> Old VDI)

Time for cake, coffee and tie your bosses both shoelaces together.
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Making Virtual Space Larger

Postby CondemnMe » 19. Mar 2009, 23:09

vbox4me2 wrote:Here we go again... (sounds like a song :lol: )

1. Create new VM-Harddisk
2. Attach this disk as second disk to VM
3. Boot VM with clonezilla liveCD
4. Clone old VDI to new VDI (see 1+2)
5. Boot VM with gparted liveCD
6. Resize new VDI
7. Swap VM-Harddisk (New VDI -> Old VDI)

Time for cake, coffee and tie your bosses both shoelaces together.

Worked perfectly. Thank you very much for taking your time to help a newbie like me.
CondemnMe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 26. Feb 2009, 00:02

Re: Making Virtual Space Larger

Postby Russell123 » 10. Apr 2010, 06:57

vbox4me your instructions are sound. i also face the problem and follow the same instructions and it solve my problem.
Thanks
read more about 642-642 and 642-746 and get 642-892 and 646-671 notes
Russell123
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 10. Apr 2010, 06:50
Primary OS: Ubuntu 8.10
VBox Version: OSE Mandriva
Guest OSses: Windows XP

Re: Making Virtual Space Larger

Postby steve7680768 » 26. Apr 2010, 13:41

That looks pretty good... hope so it will be good in use as well... Thank you for the information
646-656 and 646-671 notes for preparation 646-985 and 650-177
steve7680768
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 26. Apr 2010, 13:33
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: NA

Re: Making Virtual Space Larger

Postby mpack » 26. Apr 2010, 19:21

steve7680768 wrote:That looks pretty good... hope so it will be good in use as well...

VBox4Me2's advice was sound, but it was given more than a year ago, and things have moved on since then. In particular, the CloneVDI tool is now the fastest and easiest way to perform a number of common VDI operations, especially enlarging the disk. CloneVDI is a Win32 application, it can also be run under Wine or inside an XP (or better) VM. It does not require VirtualBox to be present.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 32130
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Elwexo and 30 guests