Discuss: Mount any VBox-compatible disk image on the host

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.

Postby TerryE » 14. Feb 2009, 22:07

I've made my own version which you can get download from here. It only works with version 2.x. I've included both the source and the binary for Ubuntu x64. I am still playing with it. I can do thinks like:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
>mkdir m m1
>
>./vdfuse -h

DESCRIPTION: This Fuse module uses the VirtualBox access library to open a
VirtualBox supported VD image file and mount it as a Fuse file system.  The
mount point contains a flat directory containing the files EntireDisk,
Partition1 .. PartitionN.  These can then be loop mounted to access the
underlying file systems

USAGE: %s [options] -f image-file mountpoint
        -h      help
        -r      readonly
        -t      specify type (VDI, VMDK, VHD, or raw; default: auto)
        -f      VDimage file
        -a      allow all users to read disk
        -w      allow all users to read and write to disk
        -g      run in foreground
        -v      verbose
        -d      debug

>./vdfuse -f temp.vdi m
>ls m
EntireDisk  Partition1
>sudo mount m/Partition1 m1 -t ext3 -o loop=/dev/loop0
>ls m1
total 68
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root   4096 2009-01-23 06:51 backups
drwxr-xr-x  8 root root   4096 2008-05-28 17:15 cache
drwxr-xr-x  3 root root   4096 2008-07-10 01:30 home
drwxr-xr-x 22 root root   4096 2008-10-24 22:39 lib
...

It works fine. However I need to play with the supported functions because I want to be able to do things like
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
dd if=s/EntireDisk of=d/EntireDisk bs=512 count=1
but at the moment this requires me to add setaddr support. Still, it's a start.
Read the Forum Posting Guide
Google your Q site:VirtualBox.org or search for the answer before posting.
TerryE
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3572
Joined: 28. May 2008, 08:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 10.04 & 11.10, both Svr&Wstn, Debian, CentOS

Postby TerryE » 15. Feb 2009, 03:52

I've ran a tiny perl script against various files to stat them.
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
perl -e '@x=stat("s/Partition1");map {printf "%08X\n",$_;} @x;'
and here are tabulated results:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
                                                   /dev/sda /dev/sda1     s   s/EntireDisk s/Partition1  aFile     aDir

  0 dev      device number of filesystem           0000000E  0000000E  00000018  00000018    00000018  00000801  00000801
  1 ino      inode number                          0000170C  00001739  00000001  00000002    00000003  00096D33  000422AC
  2 mode     file mode  (type and permissions)     000061B0  000061B0  000041C0  000081B0    000081B0  000081A4  000041ED
  3 nlink    number of (hard) links to the file    00000001  00000001  00000000  00000001    00000001  00000001  00000002
  4 uid      numeric user ID of file's owner       00000000  00000000  00000000  000003E8    000003E8  000003E8  000003E8
  5 gid      numeric group ID of file's owner      00000006  00000006  00000000  000003E8    000003E8  000003E8  000003E8
  6 rdev     the device identifier                 00000800  00000801  00000000  00000000    00000000  00000000  00000000
  7 size     total size of file, in bytes          00000000  00000000  00000000  38000000    37FC0200  000052DD  00001000
  8 atime    last access time in secs since epoch  4996C240  4996C235  00000000  00000000    00000000  49971248  49977267
  9 mtime    last modify time in secs since epoch  4996C227  4996C235  00000000  00000000    00000000  49971238  49977267
 10 ctime    inode change time in secs since epoch 4996C232  4996C235  00000000  00000000    00000000  49971238  49977267
 11 blksize  preferred block size                  00001000  00001000  00001000  00001000    00001000  00001000  00001000
 12 blocks   actual number of blocks allocated     00000000  00000000  00000000  00000000    00000000  00000030  00000008
You will see from this I have a problem with the file attributes and the size of the EntireDisk pseudo-file.
Read the Forum Posting Guide
Google your Q site:VirtualBox.org or search for the answer before posting.
TerryE
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3572
Joined: 28. May 2008, 08:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 10.04 & 11.10, both Svr&Wstn, Debian, CentOS

Postby h2o » 15. Feb 2009, 09:04

echo6 wrote:Tried with the fuse version which compiled fine but I can't mount the vdi image.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
root@toshiba:/home/echo6/.VirtualBox/VDI# /home/echo6/vdifuse -v -r -t VDI -f /home/echo6/.VirtualBox/VDI/disk1.vdi /media/test/
Partition 1:
   Offset: 32256 bytes
   Size: 106896384 bytes

Partition 2:
   Offset: 106928640 bytes
   Size: 1011709440 bytes

Partition 3:
   Offset: 1118638080 bytes
   Size: 4244244480 bytes

fuse: mount failed: Invalid argument


Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
./vdimount -v -f /home/echo6/.VirtualBox/VDI/disk1.vdi partition-number=raw /media/test
ERROR: invalid partition number 0 or port number 0


What version of fuse are you using? If you have the strace command, I would also like to know the output of strace <mount command>.
h2o
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 9. Feb 2009, 04:46

Postby TerryE » 15. Feb 2009, 15:06

echo6 wrote:./vdimount -v -f /home/echo6/.VirtualBox/VDI/disk1.vdi partition-number=raw /media/test
ERROR: invalid partition number 0 or port number

I've highlighted the relevant argument: this format isn't supported by the current utility. H2O and I are still getting to grips with the fuse system. I am going to sort out this other stuff today so that things like dding to the /EntireDisk work
Read the Forum Posting Guide
Google your Q site:VirtualBox.org or search for the answer before posting.
TerryE
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3572
Joined: 28. May 2008, 08:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 10.04 & 11.10, both Svr&Wstn, Debian, CentOS

Postby TerryE » 15. Feb 2009, 22:10

There are some subtleties here and some issues that I need to bottom out. For example in a test I do a
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
VDI=/var/images/VirtualBox/VDIs #
VBoxManage -nologo createhd -filename dest.vdi -size 1920 -format VDI
mkdir s sp d dp
./vdfuse -f $VDI/src.vdi s
ls -l s
then s correctly shows up with permissions dr-xr-x---. The reason for this is that you clearly can't create new partitions in s by writing to it. Also the files in s (Partition1 etc.) are not block mounted files so if you try to do a dd if=s/EntireDisk of=d/EntireDisk bs=512 count=1, this will fail because dd will try to create a new file. However you can clone a disk structure as the following terminal extract shows:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
> mkdir s sp d dp
> ./vdfuse -f $VDI/source.vdi s
> ./vdfuse -f $VDI/dest.vdi   d
> ls s
EntireDisk  Partition1  Partition2  Partition3
> ls d
EntireDisk
>
> cat copyMBR.pl
# Note that this only copies the MBR so doesn't work for extented partitions
open INMBR, shift or die;
open OUTMBR, '+<'.shift or die;
binmode INMBR; binmode OUTMBR;
sysread INMBR,$buf,512,0;
syswrite OUTMBR,$buf,512,0;
exit;

> perl copyMBR.pl s/EntireDisk d/EntireDisk
>
># Need to unmount and remount dest.vdi to reread the partition table
>
> sudo umount d
> ./vdfuse -f dest.vdi d
> ls d
EntireDisk  Partition1  Partition2  Partition3
> sudo mount s/Partition1 sp  -t ext3 -o loop=/dev/loop0
> mkfs.ext3 -F d/Partition1
mke2fs 1.40.8 (13-Mar-2008)
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=4096 (log=2)
Fragment size=4096 (log=2)
75840 inodes, 302896 blocks
15144 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First xdata block=0
Maximum filesystem blocks=310378496
10 block groups
32768 blocks per group, 32768 fragments per group
7584 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
        32768, 98304, 163840, 229376, 294912

Writing inode tables: done
Creating journal (8192 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

This filesystem will be automatically checked every 26 mounts or
180 days, whichever comes first.  Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.
> mkswap d/Partition2
Setting up swapspace version 1, size = 440741 kB
no label, UUID=c4470a25-0ab3-4762-b2af-1aadb1e1a1d3
>  mkfs.ext3 -F d/Partition3
mke2fs 1.40.8 (13-Mar-2008)
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=1024 (log=0)
Fragment size=1024 (log=0)
80960 inodes, 323568 blocks
16178 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=1
Maximum filesystem blocks=67633152
40 block groups
8192 blocks per group, 8192 fragments per group
2024 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
        8193, 24577, 40961, 57345, 73729, 204801, 221185

Writing inode tables: done
Creating journal (8192 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done
This filesystem will be automatically checked every 27 mounts or
180 days, whichever comes first.  Use tune2fs -c or -i to override.

and I have now configured the VDI from the host! Unfortunately the next step which is to clean copy the system partition:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
sudo mount s/Partition1 sp  -t ext3 -o loop=/dev/loop0,ro
sudo mount d/Partition1 dp  -t ext3 -o loop=/dev/loop1
cd dp; sudo mkdir sys proc dev
cd ../sp; sudo cp -a $(ls | egrep -v '^sys|^proc|^lost|^dev') ../dp
usually hangs the PC in such a way that I need to reboot! I haven't bottomed this out yet, but I have posted an updated version of source and Ubuntu-x64 binary here: http://files.ellisons.org.uk/VBox/vdfuze_TE_20.tar.gz

Upwards on onwards :-)
Read the Forum Posting Guide
Google your Q site:VirtualBox.org or search for the answer before posting.
TerryE
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3572
Joined: 28. May 2008, 08:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 10.04 & 11.10, both Svr&Wstn, Debian, CentOS

32 bit version

Postby fgleich » 15. Feb 2009, 23:57

Do you have a 32 bit version of this ? I need to mount a vdi file that I had archived before I reinstalled a newer version of pclos. I can't get vdfuse to compile, get errors. I'm pretty sure this is a 32 bit version.
thanks !
fgleich
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 15. Feb 2009, 08:03

Postby TerryE » 16. Feb 2009, 00:21

No I haven't. Sorry. Have you installed libfuse-dev and the VBox OSE source?
Read the Forum Posting Guide
Google your Q site:VirtualBox.org or search for the answer before posting.
TerryE
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3572
Joined: 28. May 2008, 08:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 10.04 & 11.10, both Svr&Wstn, Debian, CentOS

Re: 32 bit version

Postby h2o » 16. Feb 2009, 01:30

fgleich wrote:Do you have a 32 bit version of this ? I need to mount a vdi file that I had archived before I reinstalled a newer version of pclos. I can't get vdfuse to compile, get errors. I'm pretty sure this is a 32 bit version.
thanks !


Can you please show us the error?
h2o
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 9. Feb 2009, 04:46

Postby TerryE » 16. Feb 2009, 03:19

fgleich, sorry, but I just compiled it on another 32bit Ubuntu system it compiled fine so you haven't read the instructions in the program. I then did the following:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
> ./vdfuse -f /media/NewE/VirtualBox/VDIs/sysCv4.vdi s
> sudo mount s/Partition1 sp  -t ntfs-3g -o loop=/dev/loop0
>  ls -l sp
total 1547893
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root          0 2005-10-18 21:41 AUTOEXEC.BAT
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root        211 2005-10-18 21:34 boot.ini
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root          0 2005-10-18 21:41 CONFIG.SYS
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       4096 2005-10-19 01:37 Documents and Settings
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root          0 2005-10-18 21:41 IO.SYS
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root          0 2008-08-14 16:41 Log.txt
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root          0 2005-10-18 21:41 MSDOS.SYS
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root      47564 2004-08-04 13:00 NTDETECT.COM
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root     250048 2008-06-14 18:35 ntldr
-rwxrwxrwx 1 root root 1584635904 2008-08-14 16:41 pagefile.sys
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root      16384 2008-08-11 16:40 Program Files
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       4096 2005-10-19 22:21 RECYCLER
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       4096 2005-10-18 21:46 System Volume Information
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root       4096 2008-08-14 20:50 Temp
drwxrwxrwx 1 root root      69632 2008-08-13 17:30 WINDOWS

> df
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda7             21811412   4088708  16623460  20% /
...
gvfs-fuse-daemon      21811412   4088708  16623460  20% /home/terry/.gvfs
/dev/loop0            16000708   7009484   8991224  44% /home/terry/fuse/sp
> ls -l /media/NewE/VirtualBox/VDIs/sysCv4.vdi
-rw------- 1 terry terry 7457538048 2009-02-16 01:07 /media/NewE/VirtualBox/VDIs/sysCv4.vdi

So here I have a 1.6Gb dynamic VDI which contains an NTFS system partition which actually occupies ~740Mb and contains about 700Mb of files.
Read the Forum Posting Guide
Google your Q site:VirtualBox.org or search for the answer before posting.
TerryE
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3572
Joined: 28. May 2008, 08:40
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 10.04 & 11.10, both Svr&Wstn, Debian, CentOS

Actually, I'm getting this error when I try to compile:

Postby fgleich » 16. Feb 2009, 04:20

vdfuse.c:91:30: error: VBox/VBoxHDD-new.h: No such file or directory

I can't find that file anywhere in the VBox dirs. Is it from an older version of VBox ?
thanks
fgleich
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 15. Feb 2009, 08:03

Re: Actually, I'm getting this error when I try to compile:

Postby h2o » 16. Feb 2009, 04:58

fgleich wrote:vdfuse.c:91:30: error: VBox/VBoxHDD-new.h: No such file or directory

I can't find that file anywhere in the VBox dirs. Is it from an older version of VBox ?
thanks


No, you need the header files. Go download the virtualbox ose tarball and unpack it. Then run this:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
gcc vdfuse.c -o vdfuse `pkg-config --cflags --libs fuse` -l:/path/to/virtualbox/VBoxDD.so -Wl,-rpath,/path/to/virtualbox -I/unpacked/ose/tarball/include


Replace /path/to/virtualbox with your virtualbox install (it has a file named VBoxDD.so) and /unpacked/ose/tarball with the path to your unpacked tarball.
h2o
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 9. Feb 2009, 04:46

Postby fgleich » 16. Feb 2009, 05:01

OK, I don't have the OSE sources. I'll try that. Thanks for the help !
fgleich
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 15. Feb 2009, 08:03

OK, got it to compile

Postby fgleich » 16. Feb 2009, 08:08

now when I try to mount the vdi file, I get a segmentation fault. This happens even on a vdi file I know to work correctly. What do you think ?
fgleich
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 15. Feb 2009, 08:03

sorry, it's late, I'm tired

Postby fgleich » 16. Feb 2009, 08:19

it gives me the error of invalid argument again. What could be causing this ? BTW, thanks for your help
fgleich
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 15. Feb 2009, 08:03

Postby Technologov » 16. Feb 2009, 11:25

Looks like an interesting effort...
Technologov
Volunteer
 
Posts: 3313
Joined: 10. May 2007, 16:59
Location: Israel

PreviousNext

Return to VirtualBox on Linux Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests