display size on mac pro 19

Discussions about using Mac OS X guests (on Apple hardware) in VirtualBox.
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

display size on mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

Hello! After update macos on sonoma and update virtual box on 7.0.14 have problem with size display on macbook pro 16-inc 2019.
Attachments
Снимок экрана 2024-03-03 в 15.58.03.png
Снимок экрана 2024-03-03 в 15.58.03.png (64.25 KiB) Viewed 2105 times
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

Help me please 🙏 !
granada29
Volunteer
Posts: 704
Joined: 3. Mar 2015, 07:27
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, macOS, Windows

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by granada29 »

You probably need to install (or update) the VirtualBox Guest Additions in your VM.

See https://www.virtualbox.org/manual/UserM ... tadditions
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

Re: размер дисплея на mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

I understood what the problem was. I can't install Extension pack
Attachments
Снимок экрана 2024-03-04 в 11.02.25.png
Снимок экрана 2024-03-04 в 11.02.25.png (94.24 KiB) Viewed 2040 times
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

I can't run one OS on a remote ssd drive.
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

Write this error.
Attachments
Снимок экрана 2024-03-04 в 16.29.53.png
Снимок экрана 2024-03-04 в 16.29.53.png (224.07 KiB) Viewed 2008 times
granada29
Volunteer
Posts: 704
Joined: 3. Mar 2015, 07:27
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, macOS, Windows

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by granada29 »

Hmmm - I think you have the Virtual Box Extensions and the Guest Additions confused.

The Extension Pack installs on your macOS Host (not in your VM) and MUST match the version of VirtualBox that you have installed. You download them from the same place that you downloaded VirtualBox.

The Guest Additions install inside your VM and are bundled with your installed VirtualBox.

Please download and install the Extension Pack from https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads then try again.
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

Guys, please help me! This will sound strange now, but I use this Mac for work and I would not have updated in my life if it had not been pressed and many programs had already stopped working on the computer. Do I really have to roll back the software? I’m ready to pay for help, but it’s really kind of a dead end!
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

Re: размер дисплея на mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

granada29 wrote: 4. Mar 2024, 21:17 Хммм - Я думаю, что вы запутались в расширениях Virtual Box и гостевых дополнениях. Пакет расширений устанавливается на ваш хост macOS (не на вашей виртуальной машине) и ДОЛЖЕН соответствовать версии VirtualBox, которую вы установили. Вы загружаете их из того же места, где вы загрузили VirtualBox. Guest Additions устанавливаются внутри вашей виртуальной машины и поставляются в комплекте с установленным VirtualBox. Пожалуйста, загрузите и установите пакет расширений с https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads, а затем повторите попытку. [/цитата]

Initially, I updated through the program and it only later suggested that I install the extention pack. Then I tried again to install the downloaded file from the virtualbox page. But the problem also occurs in macOS, since both the virtual box and wmvare cannot be launched from a remote ssd. And now this is the biggest problem.
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

Re: размер дисплея на mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

I can't save any settings.
Attachments
Снимок экрана 2024-03-05 в 00.13.04.png
Снимок экрана 2024-03-05 в 00.13.04.png (36.16 KiB) Viewed 1963 times
granada29
Volunteer
Posts: 704
Joined: 3. Mar 2015, 07:27
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, macOS, Windows

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by granada29 »

I suggest you download the current versions of VirtualBox and the Extension Pack (VirtualBox 7.0.14)
I am not sure that VirtualBox can co-exist with VMWare. If you do have VMWare installed you should uninstall it - I don't know how to do that.

Open the Virtual 7.0.14 dmg and run the uninstall script that it contains. Right-click the icon and select Open from the pop-up menu. This will remove the VirtualBox software from your machine but will NOT remove your VM.

Reboot your machine, then reinstall VirtualBox.
When this has completed, install the Extension Pack. Simplest way is to right-click and select Open.

Check the Security&Privacy settings to make sure VirtualBox has Full Disk Access.
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

On macOS during installation there is no section where you can choose to remove the program, only install it. Removal occurs through a separate program. But I'll try to uninstall everything and install it again.
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

I managed to figure out how to launch from remote disks. But I can't figure it out with the display. Just how was the problem solved the first time when I encountered a retina display that couldn’t be done? I didn't find a high quality shutdown.
Attachments
Снимок экрана 2024-03-05 в 21.56.44.png
Снимок экрана 2024-03-05 в 21.56.44.png (50.39 KiB) Viewed 1849 times
Wozap
Posts: 34
Joined: 18. Mar 2017, 15:10

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by Wozap »

It works on version 6.1.5 but is very difficult. I noticed that if version virtualbox 7.0 is installed, extension pack 6.1.5 is installed, then full screen but freeze also works.
granada29
Volunteer
Posts: 704
Joined: 3. Mar 2015, 07:27
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, macOS, Windows

Re: display size on mac pro 19

Post by granada29 »

@wozap

This seems to be going in circles.

1. You cannot use VirtualBox 6.1.5 on Sonoma - not only is that a very old version of VirtualBox, it just won't work on Ventura or Sonoma

2. The Extension Pack version MUST be the same as the VirtualBox version - i.e you CANNOT use Extension Pack 6.1.5 with VirtualBox 7.0.x
Post Reply