Using Virtualbox as base for Hyper-V, VMware

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
Post Reply
ofurpaur
Posts: 1
Joined: 18. Jan 2024, 11:37
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows,Linux

Using Virtualbox as base for Hyper-V, VMware

Post by ofurpaur »

Hi

Currently I am build Basic Ubuntu 22.04 appliance to be used on VMWare(vsphere) and Hyper-V
This as been rather successful just by cloning the VDI and importing to VMWare and Hyper-v

Code: Select all

vboxmanage clonehd base.vdi vmware-base.vmdk -format VMDK
vboxmanage clonehd base.vdi hyperv-vbase.vhd -format VHD
VMWare has been the most problematic, my suspicion is the the main reason is the VMDK image for VMWARE. I can seam to be able to find the VMWARE hardware family created/supported by Virtalbox (search vmware hardwware family) bu my guestimate is ESXi6.5 (vmx-13)

Export to OVA, convert to OVF to update virtualbox-2.2 to vmx-13, and convert back to OVA from VMWARE users.

Code: Select all

vboxmanage export base -o base.ova
ovftool --lax base.ova base.ovf
mv base.ovf old.ovf
cat old.ovf| sed 's/virtualbox-2.2/vmx-13/g' > base.ovf
openssl sha256 base.ovf|sed 's/SHA2-256/SHA256/g' > base.mf
openssl sha256 base-disk1.vmdk |sed 's/SHA2-256/SHA256/g' > base.mf
rm base.ova
ovftool --lax base.ovf base.ova
So my real question is if someone has been preparing VirtualBox image to be distributed to VMWare as appliances.?
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 20945
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Using Virtualbox as base for Hyper-V, VMware

Post by scottgus1 »

Are you actually having a problem? Or are you asking for others' experiences?
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5678
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: Using Virtualbox as base for Hyper-V, VMware

Post by fth0 »

As an idea, you could start the other way around: First create a VMware VM on the VMware destination host, then export and import it to VirtualBox. This has the advantage of telling you what virtual hardware details are expected by the VMware hypervisor, like for example a SCSI controller for the virtual disk drive. Later on, you can create a new VM on VirtualBox with the expected virtual hardware.
Post Reply