Windows 10 freezes continuously on VirtualBox 7.0.12

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
Post Reply
Matteo06
Posts: 8
Joined: 30. Oct 2023, 19:37

Windows 10 freezes continuously on VirtualBox 7.0.12

Post by Matteo06 »

Hi,
Windows 10 freezes continuously on VirtualBox 7.0.12.
To unfreeze Windows 10, I have to pause the virtual machine and then I'll resume it. This solves the problem temporarily and after 1/2 minutes it refreezes.
Host OS: Windows 11.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 20965
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Windows 10 freezes continuously on VirtualBox 7.0.12

Post by scottgus1 »

Start the VM from full normal shutdown, not save-state. Run until you see the problem happen, then shut down the VM from within the VM's OS if possible. If not possible, close the Virtualbox window for the VM with the Power Off option set.

Right-click the VM in the main Virtualbox window's VM list, choose Show in Explorer/Finder/File Manager. In the "Logs" subfolder, zip the VM's "vbox.log", and post the zip file, using the forum's Attachments tab. (Configure your host OS to show all extensions so you can find the "vbox.log", not "vbox.log.1", etc.)
Matteo06
Posts: 8
Joined: 30. Oct 2023, 19:37

Re: Windows 10 freezes continuously on VirtualBox 7.0.12

Post by Matteo06 »

I attach VBox.log.
Attachments
VBox.zip
(43.4 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
mpack
Site Moderator
Posts: 39156
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Windows 10 freezes continuously on VirtualBox 7.0.12

Post by mpack »

RAM and CPU over-committed.
00:00:20.528451 Host RAM: 8025MB (7.8GB) total, 2983MB (2.9GB) available
00:00:26.051246 CPUM: Physical host cores: 4
...
00:00:21.460125 RamSize <integer> = 0x00000000c1800000 (3 246 391 296, 3.0 GiB)
00:00:21.460119 NumCPUs <integer> = 0x0000000000000004 (4)
You need to free up a lot of host RAM if you want to get anywhere with this. In the meantime I recommend 2048MB and 2 CPU cores.

You also have Hyper-v enabled, which is very likely to affect VirtualBox badly:
00:00:21.461387 HM: HMR3Init: Attempting fall back to NEM: VT-x is not available
00:00:21.543557 NEM: info: Found optional import WinHvPlatform.dll!WHvQueryGpaRangeDirtyBitmap.
00:00:21.543594 NEM: info: Found optional import vid.dll!VidGetHvPartitionId.
00:00:21.543610 NEM: info: Found optional import vid.dll!VidGetPartitionProperty.
00:00:21.543748 NEM: WHvCapabilityCodeHypervisorPresent is TRUE, so this might work...
To get rid of Hyper-v see HMR3Init: Attempting fall back to NEM (Hyper-V is active).
Post Reply