invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Discussions about using Mac OS X guests (on Apple hardware) in VirtualBox.
Post Reply
DFW
Posts: 8
Joined: 10. Nov 2021, 19:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Kunbuntu, Win7,win10

invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by DFW »

Grettings,

I've been attempting for the first time to install an old version of macos on top of a mac (I've been successful with windows and linux guests).

My host machine is a Mohave, 10.14.6. The guest I wish to install is Snow Leopard 10.6.

I've gotten to the point where I can start running the installer in the VM. I cannot get past the following error: "panic(cpu 1 caller 0x2abf44): Kernel trap at 0x42fca960, type 6: illegal opcode".

I've already tried the following suggestions:
- viewtopic.php?f=22&t=97969&p=479994&hil ... rd#p479994
- viewtopic.php?f=22&t=98665 (using the "Intel Core2 T7600 2.33GHz" suggestion without success)

Other things that I've tried:
- installing the 32bib vs 64bit
- using the ICH9 chipset vs PIIX3

Can anyone suggest something else ? As this is my first post, I can't seem to attach a screen shot of the error, so I'll try doing that in a 2nd post.
Last edited by scottgus1 on 10. Nov 2021, 21:51, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added links
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 20945
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by scottgus1 »

DFW wrote:I can't seem to attach a screen shot
The forum's Upload Attachment tab allows this at any time, even first post. Crop & resize to get under the 128kB size limit.

I'm no Mac guru, but, for the sake of the gurus that may be able to help:
DFW wrote:I've already tried the following suggestions
How did you do these?
DFW
Posts: 8
Joined: 10. Nov 2021, 19:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Kunbuntu, Win7,win10

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by DFW »

My screenshots, using "grab", were too big. So, thanks scottgus1 for the info.

Here are the last lines of the panic.
Attachments
installation panic
installation panic
install-panic.png (30.25 KiB) Viewed 23031 times
"Uh wugga wuh. Uh wugga wuh.
Uh wugga wugga wugga.
I wugga wuh uh wugga wuh
Uh wugga wugga wugga."

-- Richard Feynman
DFW
Posts: 8
Joined: 10. Nov 2021, 19:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Kunbuntu, Win7,win10

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by DFW »

The suggestions consist essentially in fooling the installer into thinking that the processor is older than reported by virtual box.

I literally tried

Code: Select all

VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Core2 T7600 2.33GHz"
, with no success.

Not knowing much about what processor profiles to use, I also tried

Code: Select all

VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Xeon X5482 3.20GHz"
The only thing that changes is the trap address.
"Uh wugga wuh. Uh wugga wuh.
Uh wugga wugga wugga.
I wugga wuh uh wugga wuh
Uh wugga wugga wugga."

-- Richard Feynman
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 20945
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by scottgus1 »

OK, thanks. Here's a list of other processor types to try. viewtopic.php?t=84423#p400761 Maybe one of them might match what a web-search session comes up with for what kinds of CPUs were in Snow Leopard Macs.
DFW
Posts: 8
Joined: 10. Nov 2021, 19:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Kunbuntu, Win7,win10

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by DFW »

Thank you very much ! I will give them a shot.
"Uh wugga wuh. Uh wugga wuh.
Uh wugga wugga wugga.
I wugga wuh uh wugga wuh
Uh wugga wugga wugga."

-- Richard Feynman
DFW
Posts: 8
Joined: 10. Nov 2021, 19:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Kunbuntu, Win7,win10

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by DFW »

I've now tried:
  • Code: Select all

    VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Core2 T7600 2.33GHz"

    Code: Select all

    VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Xeon X5482 3.20GHz"

    Code: Select all

    VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Core i7-6700K"

    Code: Select all

    VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Core i7-5600U"

    Code: Select all

    VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Core i7-3960X"

    Code: Select all

    VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Core i7-2635QM"

    Code: Select all

    VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Xeon X5482 3.20GHz"
which all give the same error as before.

Excitingly,

Code: Select all

VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Core i5-3570"
resulted in the error

Code: Select all

Failed to open a session for the virtual machine SnowLeopard.

CPUM internal processing error #1. (VERR_CPUM_IPE_1).

Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component: ConsoleWrap
Interface: IConsole {872da645-4a9b-1727-bee2-5585105b9eed}

which is different from all the rest (but I don't understand why).

Is there a cpu-profile list somewhere ? I don't see where VBoxManage can display a list (probably too large).
"Uh wugga wuh. Uh wugga wuh.
Uh wugga wugga wugga.
I wugga wuh uh wugga wuh
Uh wugga wugga wugga."

-- Richard Feynman
DFW
Posts: 8
Joined: 10. Nov 2021, 19:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Kunbuntu, Win7,win10

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by DFW »

More attempts, none of which got past the panicked cpu...

Code: Select all

VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Xeon X5482 3.20GHz"
VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Core2 X6800 2.93GHz"
VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Pentium M processor 2.00GHz"
VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Atom 330 1.60GHz"
VBoxManage modifyvm SnowLeopard --cpu-profile "Intel Pentium N3530 2.16GHz"
Forestalling the question: Yes, I rebooted the virtual machine after each of these configuration modifications.

Side question: on the installation DVD, there are 2 identical boot.efi files, one in usr/standalone/i386 and the other one in System/Library/CoreServices. Does it matter which one I select when falling into the interactive shell ?

I'll keep on plugging along <sigh>.
Thanks for any other suggestions !
"Uh wugga wuh. Uh wugga wuh.
Uh wugga wugga wugga.
I wugga wuh uh wugga wuh
Uh wugga wugga wugga."

-- Richard Feynman
granada29
Volunteer
Posts: 718
Joined: 3. Mar 2015, 07:27
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, macOS, Windows

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by granada29 »

You have posted in the wrong forum for this query. Maybe a mod will move it to MacOS X guests.

That aside, the crash is coming from the AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement kext. This is known to cause problems with VirtualBox and Snow Leopard as detailed here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=64346&hilit=AppleIn ... Management

The solution is to remove the kext from the system after installation. To do this is a bit tricky, but can be done by mounting the virtual drive in a working macOS VM - e.g. maybe El Capitan or later. There may be other ways, but this is the way I handled it when I installed Snow Leopard

I hope that helps.

Edit: fixed typo
DFW
Posts: 8
Joined: 10. Nov 2021, 19:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Kunbuntu, Win7,win10

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by DFW »

Thank you for telling me that the post is in the wrong forum - I will ask that it be moved.
That aside, the crash is coming from the AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement kext. This is known to cause problems with VirtualBox and Snow Leopard as detailed here: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=64346&hilit=AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement
I saw that post - but, so sorry, I don't understand. The AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement kext issue seems to appear once the guest is running. In my case, I can't get the system to install in the first place.

Thanks for the advice !
"Uh wugga wuh. Uh wugga wuh.
Uh wugga wugga wugga.
I wugga wuh uh wugga wuh
Uh wugga wugga wugga."

-- Richard Feynman
granada29
Volunteer
Posts: 718
Joined: 3. Mar 2015, 07:27
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, macOS, Windows

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by granada29 »

OK - couple of other things you might try.

If you have more than 1 cpu configured for your VM, then try just 1.
If you only have 1, then try 2. I seem to remember that this made a difference.

Also - make sure you have USB 2.0 configured for the VM (I think you need VirtualBox Extensions installed to do this).
DFW
Posts: 8
Joined: 10. Nov 2021, 19:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Kunbuntu, Win7,win10

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by DFW »

Aha !

Thank you, granada29 ! I had 2 cpus active, reduced it to 1, and got past the panic stage.

For those of you reading this thread, I managed to get to the "Select language" portion of the install, where the keyboard and mouse were inoperative.

Changing from USB3 support to USB2 fixed that.

Now have other issues, but the original problem is "solved".

Thank you for the suggestion !
"Uh wugga wuh. Uh wugga wuh.
Uh wugga wugga wugga.
I wugga wuh uh wugga wuh
Uh wugga wugga wugga."

-- Richard Feynman
granada29
Volunteer
Posts: 718
Joined: 3. Mar 2015, 07:27
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, macOS, Windows

Re: invalid opcode attempting to install Snow Leopard guest on Mohave

Post by granada29 »

Very glad to hear that you are making progress. Once you have the guest working you should be able to increase the cpu count. I am pretty sure that Snow Leopard pre-dates USB 3 - hence the need for USB 2
Post Reply