Connection issue

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Re: Connection issue

Postby HuaMin » 27. Jul 2021, 10:40

Host machine is working fine with assign public IP 2?.?.?. This is the way both host and guest VM have been working there for long time. For instance, host machine is with IP 2?.?.?, then other guest VM is with IP like 2?.?.2, 2?.?.3, etc.

Only issue is that, after the change yesterday, guest VM is not able to get assigned public IP 2?.?.?, regarding bridged adapter.
Last edited by HuaMin on 13. Aug 2021, 15:41, edited 3 times in total.
HuaMin
 
Posts: 207
Joined: 17. Jan 2012, 07:01
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Oracle linux

Re: Connection issue

Postby mpack » 27. Jul 2021, 10:50

As I said, the basic facts are as already explained: the VM has no access to DHCP. Only you have the equipment nearby, so only you can find out why.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34731
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Connection issue

Postby scottgus1 » 27. Jul 2021, 14:42

HuaMin, are you sure the "cable" to the VM is still connected? See the VM's Network settings, Bridged adapter, Advanced dropdown, Cable Connected should be checked.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13328
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Connection issue

Postby HuaMin » 28. Jul 2021, 04:02

Scott,
It is with options below (I never changed it)

2a.png
2a.png (12.56 KiB) Viewed 883 times


It is perfect/fine to work with NAT option but using Bridged adapter, it is not able to be assigned with IP like "223.???", while before the modem change, it is working fine with Bridged adapter, using such real IP 223?????.
HuaMin
 
Posts: 207
Joined: 17. Jan 2012, 07:01
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Oracle linux

Re: Connection issue

Postby scottgus1 » 28. Jul 2021, 16:57

Good, the "cable" is connected.

Your problem is not in Virtualbox and cannot be fixed with Virtualbox.

Despite what your vendor is saying, the new hardware is missing a setting that the old hardware was using.

There have been many ideas posted above about why your VM cannot get an IP address. You should go back and try to understand them. A short summary:

  • Check that the new hardware's DHCP server is running correctly according the old settings.
  • Check if your ISP was giving you multiple public IP addresses and the new hardware has to give one of those public IP addresses to your VM.
  • get a router between your new hardware and your host PC, so the PC no longer gets a public IP address but a private one, and the VM will also be able to get a private IP address.

You cannot solve this by changing Virtualbox settings. You can only solve it by configuring your new hardware properly.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13328
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Previous

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 45 guests