post-5.1 upgrade breaks networking VERR_INTNET_FLT_VNIC_CREATE_FAILED

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Solaris hosts.

post-5.1 upgrade breaks networking VERR_INTNET_FLT_VNIC_CREATE_FAILED

Postby kburtch » 25. Mar 2021, 20:27

I just upgraded one of my work servers' VirtualBox installation and ran into a problem (actually, two problems, the first being Solaris 11.4 changed the way the kernel major number is reported, which broke uninstalling 5.1).
I'm using VirtualBox-6.1.19-143492-Solaris.p5p (which is a test release) as VirtualBox-6.1.18-142142-Solaris.p5p is broken for Solaris 11.4 as noted in viewtopic.php?f=11&t=101641
(note: I changed the hostnames in the paste)
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
vbox@vbhost:~$ VBoxManage startvm --type headless vbclient           Waiting for VM "vbclient" to power on...
VBoxManage: error: Nonexistent host networking interface, name 'net0' (VERR_INTERNAL_ERROR)
VBoxManage: error: Details: code NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005), component ConsoleWrap, interface IConsole

This turned out to be the same bug I reported (and worked around) in viewtopic.php?f=11&t=99799
So I applied the fix and ran into a different bug:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
vbox@vbhost:~$ VBoxManage modifyvm vbclient --nic1 bridged --bridgeadapter1 "net0 - Ethernet"
vbox@vbhost:~$ VBoxManage startvm --type headless vbclient           Waiting for VM "vbclient" to power on...
VBoxManage: error: Failed to open/create the internal network 'HostInterfaceNetworking-net0' (VERR_INTNET_FLT_VNIC_CREATE_FAILED).
VBoxManage: error: Failed to attach the network LUN (VERR_INTNET_FLT_VNIC_CREATE_FAILED)
VBoxManage: error: Details: code NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005), component ConsoleWrap, interface IConsole


This makes no sense, as 'HostInterfaceNetworking-net0' is not in vbclient's configuration:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
vbox@vbhost:~$ VBoxManage showvminfo vbclient | grep NIC.1           NIC 1:                       MAC: 0800277E8AEB, Attachment: Bridged Interface 'net0 - Ethernet', Cable connected: on, Trace: off (file: none), Type: 82540EM, Reported speed: 0 Mbps, Boot priority: 0, Promisc Policy: deny, Bandwidth group: none

It gets weirder. This same fix worked on this same host for another client minutes before!
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
vbox@vbhost:~$ VBoxManage showvminfo vbclienttest| grep NIC.1
NIC 1:                       MAC: 080027A0442F, Attachment: Bridged Interface 'net2 - Ethernet', Cable connected: on, Trace: off (file: none), Type: 82540EM, Reported speed: 0 Mbps, Boot priority: 0, Promisc Policy: deny, Bandwidth group: none

Yes, one has net0 and one has net2. I also tried net1 and it fails in the exact same way. The net0 interface (previously defined as 'net0') worked fine for this client before the VirtualBox upgrade.

Now if I list the bridged adaptors, that string is at the bottom of each definition.
(trimmed paste, as it's long)
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Name:            net0 - Ethernet
GUID:            3074656e-0000-4000-8000-0010e029f5a2
DHCP:            Disabled
IPAddress:       10.205.2.154
NetworkMask:     255.255.254.0
IPV6Address:     fe80::210:e0ff:fe29:f5a2
IPV6NetworkMaskPrefixLength: 10
HardwareAddress: 00:10:e0:29:f5:a2
MediumType:      Ethernet
Wireless:        No
Status:          Up
VBoxNetworkName: HostInterfaceNetworking-net0

Name:            net1 - Ethernet
GUID:            3174656e-0000-4000-8000-000000000000
DHCP:            Disabled
IPAddress:       0.0.0.0
NetworkMask:     0.0.0.0
IPV6Address:
IPV6NetworkMaskPrefixLength: 0
HardwareAddress: 00:00:00:00:00:00
MediumType:      Ethernet
Wireless:        No
Status:          Unknown
VBoxNetworkName: HostInterfaceNetworking-net1

Name:            net2 - Ethernet
GUID:            3274656e-0000-4000-8000-000000000000
DHCP:            Disabled
IPAddress:       0.0.0.0
NetworkMask:     0.0.0.0
IPV6Address:
IPV6NetworkMaskPrefixLength: 0
HardwareAddress: 00:00:00:00:00:00
MediumType:      Ethernet
Wireless:        No
Status:          Unknown
VBoxNetworkName: HostInterfaceNetworking-net2

So I'm hoping someone knows: why does this fail when the same fix worked for another VM under the same host?

FWIW: I also tried firing up an X server and throwing back the display for the VB GUI (painful as this is over a VPN and multiple WAN hops) and selecting the networking that way with the exact same results. I even tried changing it to NAT, saving, then changing it back to bridged and re-selecting net0, and it inserted exactly the same line into the config file as the command line did.

Server:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
             Name: entire
          Summary: entire incorporation including Support Repository Update
                   (Oracle Solaris 11.4.26.75.4).
      Description: This package constrains system package versions to the same
                   build.  WARNING: Proper system update and correct package
                   selection depend on the presence of this incorporation.
                   Removing this package will result in an unsupported system.
                   For more information see:
                   https://support.oracle.com/rs?type=doc&id=2433412.1
         Category: Meta Packages/Incorporations
            State: Installed
        Publisher: solaris
          Version: 11.4 (Oracle Solaris 11.4.26.75.4)
           Branch: 11.4.26.0.1.75.4
   Packaging Date: September 23, 2020 at  5:58:20 PM
Last Install Time: October 30, 2020 at  2:43:26 PM
             Size: 2.52 kB
             FMRI: pkg://solaris/entire@11.4-11.4.26.0.1.75.4:20200923T175820Z
kburtch
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 8. Apr 2013, 22:49

Re: post-5.1 upgrade breaks networking VERR_INTNET_FLT_VNIC_CREATE_FAILED

Postby kburtch » 25. Mar 2021, 20:37

I just tested it on the third VM with the same failure, this one on net2 (same interface as the one that worked).
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
VBoxManage: error: Failed to open/create the internal network 'HostInterfaceNetworking-net2' (VERR_INTNET_FLT_VNIC_CREATE_FAILED).
VBoxManage: error: Failed to attach the network LUN (VERR_INTNET_FLT_VNIC_CREATE_FAILED)
VBoxManage: error: Details: code NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005), component ConsoleWrap, interface IConsole
kburtch
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 8. Apr 2013, 22:49

Re: post-5.1 upgrade breaks networking VERR_INTNET_FLT_VNIC_CREATE_FAILED

Postby kburtch » 25. Mar 2021, 23:01

Confirmed that this is not broken and works as expected in 6.1.16.
kburtch
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 8. Apr 2013, 22:49

Re: post-5.1 upgrade breaks networking VERR_INTNET_FLT_VNIC_CREATE_FAILED

Postby paulson » 27. Apr 2021, 17:15

Between this thread and the companion thread it's a little unclear to me
what is the final problem statement - what's not working exactly? You
mention in the companion thread that VBoxManage picked up the network
interface from your non-global zone. Does that interface have the same
'Name:' displayed in the 'VBoxManage list bridgedifs' output? My
Solaris 11.4 system shows different names for net0 in the global zone
versus the net0 interface in the non-global zone named 'zebu':

Name: net0 - Ethernet
GUID: 3074656e-0000-4000-8000-0010e0874b38
DHCP: Disabled
IPAddress: 10.134.70.59
NetworkMask: 255.255.255.0
IPV6Address: fe80::210:e0ff:fe87:4b38
IPV6NetworkMaskPrefixLength: 10
HardwareAddress: 00:10:e0:87:4b:38
MediumType: Ethernet
Wireless: No
Status: Up
VBoxNetworkName: HostInterfaceNetworking-net0

Name: zebu/net0 - Ethernet
GUID: 7562657a-6e2f-4465-b000-000000000000
DHCP: Disabled
IPAddress: 0.0.0.0
NetworkMask: 0.0.0.0
IPV6Address:
IPV6NetworkMaskPrefixLength: 0
HardwareAddress: 00:00:00:00:00:00
MediumType: Ethernet
Wireless: No
Status: Unknown
VBoxNetworkName: HostInterfaceNetworking-zebu/net0


With a clearer description of the issue we can hopefully get to the
bottom of why it is no longer working.


Cheers,
Brent
paulson
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 6. Jun 2019, 20:16

Re: post-5.1 upgrade breaks networking VERR_INTNET_FLT_VNIC_CREATE_FAILED

Postby kburtch » 29. Apr 2021, 20:00

paulson wrote:Between this thread and the companion thread it's a little unclear to me
what is the final problem statement - what's not working exactly?

When running VirtualBox >6.1.16, only the first VB VM can run.
Attempting to launch any other VMs results in errors (which were pasted into my previous posts).

paulson wrote: You mention in the companion thread that VBoxManage picked up the network
interface from your non-global zone.

Just to clarify, I'm not running them in zones, they're running under user "vbox" on the global.
What I was trying to explain in that thread was the GUI was defaulting to the net0 in the zone rather than the net0 in the global. I don't have screenshots as that was 7 months ago. I only checked via the GUI as the person to which I was replying requested it.

The reference to that thread was specifically referring to this config change fix required for an upgrade beyond 5.1.38 to function:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
-          <BridgedInterface name="net0"/>
+          <BridgedInterface name="net0 - Ethernet"/>

This worked for one VB VM, but not for the other two, as they produce the previously posted errors.
paulson wrote:With a clearer description of the issue we can hopefully get to the
bottom of why it is no longer working.

Please let me know what other information you need.
kburtch
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 8. Apr 2013, 22:49


Return to VirtualBox on Solaris Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests