DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.
Post Reply
toby.h.ferguson
Posts: 4
Joined: 23. Mar 2010, 18:16
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 9.1 desktop i386

DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Post by toby.h.ferguson »

Problem: macvlans don't seem to allow VirtualBox guests containers (!) to use dhcp, no matter the networking mode, no matter the adaptor chosen.

Description: OL6U5 host, OL6U5 guest, bridged networking, non-intel adaptor. Guest contains a linux container, and I want to make that container use dhcp to get its address. This doesn't work ... setting the address manually does work, but dhcp doesn't.

Anyone seen anything like this, or have any ideas what I might try next? (I haven't gotten wireshark out yet to see if the request gets out, but that'd be my next step as/when I have time)

Toby
toby.h.ferguson
Posts: 4
Joined: 23. Mar 2010, 18:16
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 9.1 desktop i386

Re: DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Post by toby.h.ferguson »

For the record, Jerome Petazzone @docker.com gave me this info:
  1. The "Adapter Type" should be set to "PCnet-FAST III" (not the default, which is an Intel PRO/1000 variant), see https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/6519
  2. "Promiscuous Mode" should be set to "Allow All".
And I found that my container configuration file had TWO entries for lxc.network in it - so I reduced it to this set:

Code: Select all

lxc.network.type = macvlan
lxc.network.macvlan.mode = bridge
lxc.network.link = eth0
lxc.network.flags = up
Furthermore, my ifcfg-eth0 contained:

Code: Select all

DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
ONBOOT=ues
DHCP_HOSTNAME=ol65.toby.net
Once I'd done an ifdown eth0; ifup eth0 everything worked as I'd hoped. Great!
jmar83_the2nd
Posts: 341
Joined: 9. Mar 2012, 00:14

Re: DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Post by jmar83_the2nd »

Can somebody confirm that macvlan adapters work with "PCnet-FAST III" and "Promiscuous Mode" set to "Allow All"...?

I can't - not really... :-(
regards, jan
socratis
Site Moderator
Posts: 27330
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5
Location: Greece

Re: DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Post by socratis »

Doing a search for "MACvlan", all queries/answers/hits point to Docker. Maybe you're asking in the wrong forums? Have you tried the Docker support channels?
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
jmar83_the2nd
Posts: 341
Joined: 9. Mar 2012, 00:14

Re: DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Post by jmar83_the2nd »

No, i want to use a macvlan adapter without docker...
regards, jan
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 20965
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Post by scottgus1 »

First we have a necropost, about 5 years' decay.

And we have Jan forgetting or failing to see Socratis' advice here:
Socratis wrote:PS. It works best if you first consolidate your posts and then sum them up in a coherent post, instead of splitting them up in 4 posts
Jan, Toby hasn't been around since March 11th, 2014. Click his name and you'll see when he last posted.

Seems like here might be a better place to continue your project.
jmar83_the2nd
Posts: 341
Joined: 9. Mar 2012, 00:14

Re: DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Post by jmar83_the2nd »

OK thx
regards, jan
jmar83_the2nd
Posts: 341
Joined: 9. Mar 2012, 00:14

Re: DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Post by jmar83_the2nd »

Question: Is that issue with macvlan adapters solved now?

Or is it unsolveable, so to say "by design"...?

(But in my case, i don't use DHCP - static only. But macvlan adapters was genereally not working the last time i've tried it)

Thank you for your feedbacks.
regards, jan
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Posts: 20965
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Post by scottgus1 »

I don't have any info on any changes over macvlans. Check the Bugtracker for any active tickets reporting changes, or look at the changelog for new versions. Or try a test build.

Let us know what you find.
jmar83_the2nd
Posts: 341
Joined: 9. Mar 2012, 00:14

Re: DHCP and MACvlans in VBoxed containers

Post by jmar83_the2nd »

Thank you very much for your fast feedback - will try it ASAP!! :-)
regards, jan
Post Reply