Adding additional CPU fails without error

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Linux hosts.

Adding additional CPU fails without error

Postby Mitchellmitchellmitchell » 9. Aug 2019, 11:31

I have a headless Ubuntu host running a headless Ubuntu guest.

The guest was initially configured with 1 CPU. I tried to add CPU's using the following commands

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
VBoxManage modifyvm "VM name" --cpuhotplug on
VBoxManage modifyvm "VM name" --cpus 4
VBoxManage modifyvm "VM name" --plugcpu 1
VBoxManage modifyvm "VM name" --plugcpu 2
VBoxManage modifyvm "VM name" --plugcpu 3


None of this returned any errors. Then, loggin into my host I see nothing has changed. top, htop and lshw all show only one cpu. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong and how to debug this issue.
Mitchellmitchellmitchell
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 9. Aug 2019, 11:25

Re: Adding additional CPU fails without error

Postby socratis » 14. Aug 2019, 12:20

Does your Ubuntu guest even support CPU hot-plugging? And which Ubuntu are we talking about, 8.04, 16.10, 19.04? You got to give some more details about the setup.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25919
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to VirtualBox on Linux Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests