Three Host-Only(s) network issue

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.

Three Host-Only(s) network issue

Postby ScholarsMate » 1. Feb 2019, 01:15

Has any resolution to this issue been found? I'm having the same issue.
[ModEdit: split from viewtopic.php?f=8&t=90550]

I'm running macOS Mojave (10.14.2) and VirtualBox 6.0.4 r128413 (Qt5.6.3).

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
vboxnet0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
   ether 0a:00:27:00:00:00
   inet 192.168.56.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.56.255
$ VBoxManage list hostonlyifs
Name:            vboxnet0
GUID:            786f6276-656e-4074-8000-0a0027000000
DHCP:            Disabled
IPAddress:       192.168.56.1
NetworkMask:     255.255.255.0
IPV6Address:
IPV6NetworkMaskPrefixLength: 0
HardwareAddress: 0a:00:27:00:00:00
MediumType:      Ethernet
Wireless:        No
Status:          Up
VBoxNetworkName: HostInterfaceNetworking-vboxnet0

$ ping -c4 192.168.56.1
PING 192.168.56.1 (192.168.56.1): 56 data bytes
Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
Request timeout for icmp_seq 2

--- 192.168.56.1 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss
$


The relevant bits in VirtualBox.xml

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
...
      <ExtraDataItem name="HostOnly/vboxnet0/IPAddress" value="192.168.56.1"/>
      <ExtraDataItem name="HostOnly/vboxnet0/IPNetMask" value="255.255.255.0"/>
...
    <NetserviceRegistry>
      <DHCPServers>
        <DHCPServer networkName="HostInterfaceNetworking-vboxnet0" IPAddress="192.168.56.100" networkMask="255.255.255.0" lowerIP="192.168.56.101" upperIP="192.168.56.254" enabled="1"/>
      </DHCPServers>
    </NetserviceRegistry>
...


Thanks!
ScholarsMate
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 1. Feb 2019, 00:46

Re: host only network issue

Postby socratis » 4. Feb 2019, 11:39

You need to have at least 1 running VM that uses the Host-Only network for that to work. Do you?
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 26925
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: host only network issue

Postby ScholarsMate » 5. Feb 2019, 21:50

Yes, I have a running VM using the vboxnet0 interface.

I have a VM that has 3 host-only adapters created. The guest OS is RHEL 6. I'm not permitted to install vbox tools in this VM. The application running inside gets configured with static IPs, which are set to that of the vboxnet0 with the last octets being 110, 120 and 130 as the IP of the interfaces and the gateways (simulating 3 different networks). When the VM boots I can see those 3 interfaces getting their respective IPs assigned, but they are not visible from the host and xboxnet0 (192.168.56.1) is not pingable.

To gather another data point, I have created another (more typical) VM using CentOS 7 and configured a NAT and a host-only adapter and installed the vbox tools. The host-only adapter comes up "off" in the guest and I have to turn it on, and when I do it gets an IP matching that of vboxnet0 with the last octet being 101. Once this VM comes online, both the vboxnet0 interface and the 101 IP become pingable on the host.

The VM with 3 host-only adapters, without any VM tools installed works fine under VMware Fusion 11 Pro with a similar configuration. The VM with 3 host-only adapters also works fine under the same version (6.0.4) of Virtualbox on Windows 10.

Hope that helps.
ScholarsMate
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 1. Feb 2019, 00:46

Re: Three Host-Only(s) network issue

Postby socratis » 5. Feb 2019, 22:28

ScholarsMate wrote:I have a VM that has 3 host-only adapters created.
Okey, dokey... You know that you didn't have the same problem as the thread (viewtopic.php?f=8&t=90550) that I split your post from, right? Not only that, but you selectively chose what information to share from your initial post. I'm sorry, but that's not how it works. You have to be completely forthcoming with complete information. Otherwise, ...well read the first sentence of my signature.

ScholarsMate wrote: I'm not permitted to install vbox tools in this VM.
By "vbox tools" I think you mean the Guest Additions. Nothing to do with it.

ScholarsMate wrote: The application running inside gets configured with static IPs
Whoa, what? What application. We were talking about basic connectivity or the lack thereof. Your custom application may have a different issue. And ... when did we start talking about "custom" applications?

ScholarsMate wrote:The host-only adapter comes up "off" in the guest and I have to turn it on
Nothing to do with VirtualBox. A lot of Linux OSes do that, I don't know why.

ScholarsMate wrote:Hope that helps.
Hope that you'll understand that full disclosure might help even more...
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 26925
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to VirtualBox on Mac OS X Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: socratis and 12 guests