No Host-only options in Preferences

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.

No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby htor » 13. Nov 2017, 01:06

I'm trying to set up a host-only network for two guest OSes, but when I go to Virtualbox > Preferences > Network I only see the "NAT Networks" tab but no "Host-only Networks" tab (screenshot #1). There should be an option for that, but it's not there. I can't create an host-only therefore select anything in the drop-down list for host-only adapter on the respective guest OSes (screenshot #2).

MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Mid 2014)
macos version: 10.11.6
virtualbox version: 5.2.0 r118431 (Qt5.6.3)

#1
Image

#2
Image
htor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11. Nov 2017, 19:50

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby mpack » 13. Nov 2017, 10:51

Asked and answered several times. Please look/search before posting.

This tool is moved in 5.2.0. Look on the main UI toolbar, specifically the "Global Tools" split button on the right.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29977
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby htor » 15. Nov 2017, 01:51

Thanks for clearing that up. I actually searched / looked but didn't find it! The decision to move that setting out of the 'Network' settings was a wicked UI-decision.
htor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11. Nov 2017, 19:50

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby mpack » 15. Nov 2017, 10:54

htor wrote:The decision to move that setting out of the 'Network' settings was a wicked UI-decision.

Hmm. I think a good time to comment on that would have been during the long beta test period of 5.2.0.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29977
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby hopeseekr » 12. Mar 2018, 17:27

I am having this same problem. I came in from Google. Telling others to "search the Forum" is *so* not helpful.

----

For those who come after me: In a huge, currently undocumented, UI shakeup, in 2018 you have to go File -> Host Network Manager. There you will find the option to add a Host-Only network (the default).
hopeseekr
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12. Mar 2018, 17:26

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby socratis » 12. Mar 2018, 17:33

hopeseekr wrote:Telling others to "search the Forum" is *so* not helpful.

1) That was not the only thing the OP was told.
2) It obviously is helpful because you found it by searching. :shock:
3) Registering just to say that a previous comment was not helpful? I wonder how many are going to register based on your comment alone...
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 26934
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby Dodge62 » 23. May 2018, 17:37

socratis wrote:3) Registering just to say that a previous comment was not helpful? I wonder how many are going to register based on your comment alone...

Well ... felt I had to really.

Many thanks to hopeseeker. The original comment "Look on the main UI toolbar, specifically the "Global Tools" split button on the right." meant nothing to me (and still doesn't), but "File -> Host Network Manager" was nice and clear.
Dodge62
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 23. May 2018, 17:31

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby mpack » 24. May 2018, 09:43

Dodge62 wrote:The original comment "Look on the main UI toolbar, specifically the "Global Tools" split button on the right." meant nothing to me (and still doesn't)

Right... so in the end you joined up to complain about your own reading comprehension? That's obviously way better.

If you think you can do a better job helping people around here, then I'd be absolutely thrilled to see you do it. Or was complaining about others efforts the full extent of your ambition?
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29977
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby Tobit » 27. Aug 2018, 18:18

Thanks to everyone who provided guidance on this. This page is the first google hit for the search "virtualbox host-only ethernet adapter dropdown empty". It's unfortunate that it's filled with such caustic sarcasm.
Tobit
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22. Jan 2016, 22:49

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby ChipMcK » 27. Aug 2018, 20:13

most of the caustic sarcasm is your doing
ChipMcK
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1096
Joined: 20. May 2009, 02:17
Location: U S of A
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, OSX

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby Tobit » 27. Aug 2018, 20:19

Haha, ok.
Tobit
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22. Jan 2016, 22:49

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby tetryss » 25. Jan 2019, 16:41

For anyone who seeks an up-to-date answer:

1. From the main menu, select File > Host Network Manager (Ctrl+W)
2. You should see an empty white box with "Host-only Networks". Click the create button (Ctrl +A). A new Host-only network will be created and added to the list.

After that you should be able to select a name for your host-only networks in the VMs network configuration.
tetryss
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25. Jan 2019, 16:36

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby mpack » 25. Jan 2019, 17:43

This topic is already covering three radically different user interfaces, so time for it to close.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29977
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to VirtualBox on Mac OS X Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests