Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Allgemeine Diskussionen über den Einsatz von VirtualBox.

Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Postby papillon121 » 31. Oct 2017, 21:04

Hallo Leute,

ich habe eine Frage zum Ram Verbrauch.

Ich möchte auf einem Windows 10 Rechner, sieben VMs laufen lassen, auf denen jeweils auch Win 10 installiert ist.

Nun braucht eine VM ca. 5 GB Ram damit sie schnell bei mir läuft. Heißt das, dass ich 35 GB Ram benötige, wenn ich 7 VMs laufen lassen will, oder gibt es einen Trick, wie der Ram variabel (also nur wenn er auch wirklich gebraucht wird) von der VM eingesetzt werden kann?

Für Tipps oder Vorschläge wäre ich sehr dankbar!

Grüße!
papillon121
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 31. Oct 2017, 20:57

Re: Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Postby mpack » 1. Nov 2017, 11:16

Replying in English...

If N VMs require X GM RAM each - and so does the host, and all N VMs run at the same time then yes, your host requires (N+1)*X GB RAM. It also should have (N+1) CPU cores if you want useful performance.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25470
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Postby papillon121 » 1. Nov 2017, 13:06

Yes but i thought the vm just need the ram to start windows 10, so i thought about variable ram usage.

what if i need 10 VMs, did i need to buy 80 GB Ram für round about 800 Euro?
Last edited by socratis on 1. Nov 2017, 13:18, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary verbatim quote of the whole previous message.
papillon121
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 31. Oct 2017, 20:57

Re: Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Postby socratis » 1. Nov 2017, 13:22

papillon121 wrote:i thought about variable ram usage.
There is no such thing. There is "lazy" allocation. That means that a VM might not allocate all the RAM from the beginning. But it will do eventually. And *then* you'll run into problems.

papillon121 wrote:what if i need 10 VMs, did i need to buy 80 GB Ram für round about 800 Euro?
Maybe... You can shop around for better deals. Although, you'll have bigger problems. Not a lot of computers support 80 GB of RAM. And if they do, they are way, way, way more money than your 800 €... Start looking at 5-digits...

Take a look at ch. 4.9 Memory overcommitment of the user manual. Both of the sub-chapters...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12648
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Postby papillon121 » 1. Nov 2017, 15:31

thank you very much for your answer so far. so theres no other option for me to run 10 windows10 VMs at the same time on 1 PC without spending in a 5 Digit PC System?

Greetings to you!
papillon121
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 31. Oct 2017, 20:57

Re: Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Postby mpack » 1. Nov 2017, 15:49

The shortest answer is that VMs cannot use host paged memory, the RAM must physically exist. VirtualBox does have a feature which can allow memory to be shared by VMs (but not with the host), Socratis already gave you the link. I would be suspicious of features like that. IMHO complete freedom requires each VM to have independant resources.

And best not gloss over the CPU cores issue either. Or I/O bandwidth.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25470
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Postby socratis » 1. Nov 2017, 16:17

You might be better of buying 10 PCs. As for the "big kahuna", here's a result from a quick search for 80 GB of RAM: https://www.quora.com/How-do-I-build-a- ... sive-tasks
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12648
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Postby Borsti78 » 3. Nov 2017, 10:49

Servus! Wie andere ja schon erwähnten, ist Ram ja nicht alles, selbst wenn das, was du vor hast, möglich wäre. Die Vms wollen alle ihre Cpu-Kerne, Grafikspeicher, Netzwerkdurchsatz, Lese- und Schreibleistung von der Festplatte etc. Da landet man insbesondere bei der Preisfrage sehr schnell wieder bei mehreren Hosts mit Standardkomponenten, da es ja schon ein Unterschied ist, die 7 Vms auf einem Host für sicher > 60000 € laufen zu lassen, oder einfach auf 2 Hosts für zusammen < 1000 € ;)

Standen in der Firma vor einer ähnlichen Aufgabe und haben nach langem hin und her auch einfach 3 Hosts mit Standardkomponenten aus dem Konsumerbereich zusammengezimmert. Zugriff auf die Vms läuft dann halt entweder per Rdp, oder Displayumschaltung auf die verschiedenen Hosts.
Borsti78
 
Posts: 79
Joined: 10. Feb 2013, 02:08

10 virtuelle Maschinen auf einem PC möglich?

Postby papillon121 » 5. Dec 2017, 23:20

Hallo Leute,

Ich komme gleich zur Sache: Ich möchte gerne 10 VMs auf einem PC laufen lassen. Mein PC hat 36 GB Ram und i5 7400.

Nun laufen dort gerade 3 VMs flüssig (jeweils mit 6 GB Ram, Windows 10 64Bit).

Sobald ich allerdings die vierte VM starte, kommt alles ins stocken. Ich wollte gerne insgesamt 10 VMs laufen lassen, alle mit den gleichen Spezifikationen.

Hat jemand eine Idee wie das möglich sein könnte?

Schöne Grüße!
papillon121
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 31. Oct 2017, 20:57

Re: Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Postby socratis » 6. Dec 2017, 00:34

I merged your topic with the previous question you had. It's the same exactly issue, so there is no need for a duplicate.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12648
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Wieviel Ram für 7 VMs nötig?

Postby stefan.becker » 7. Dec 2017, 23:08

Und was soll so eine VM können? Wozu dient sie?
stefan.becker
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7406
Joined: 7. Jun 2007, 21:53


Return to Allgemeine Diskussionen

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests