Disable update check

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Post Reply
JeanC
Posts: 7
Joined: 16. Sep 2008, 16:47
Location: Groningen Netherlands
Contact:

Disable update check

Post by JeanC »

Hello,

How can I disable the annoying update notification I get every time I start VB?
I do not want to update, my system is fine running as it is.

Thanks, Jean.

VB on host xp sp3, several clients.
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Disable update check

Post by Perryg »

You change this under preferences -> update
JeanC
Posts: 7
Joined: 16. Sep 2008, 16:47
Location: Groningen Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Disable update check

Post by JeanC »

Ah there it is, I wasn't looking in the right place.

Thanks.
WFV
Posts: 83
Joined: 7. Mar 2016, 13:28
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: ArchLinux; Fedora; Ubuntu; Win7pro64; WinXP
Contact:

Re: Disable update check

Post by WFV »

This resolution is way outdated - there is no longer an "update" option in Preferences (not in 5.0.20 or 5.0.22, and according to the 5.0.24 changelog doesn't appear to be there either).
Also, although running the command

Code: Select all

VBoxManage setextradata global GUI/SuppressMessages "all"
does set the value in VirtualBox.xml file, VirtualBox ignores it. Does anyone know how to disable the updates notification/check in the newer versions?

Edit: strikethrough
Last edited by WFV on 1. Jul 2016, 00:54, edited 1 time in total.
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Disable update check

Post by Perryg »

Sure there is. Where do you get your copy of VirtualBox from?
update_as_of_06.30.2016.png
update_as_of_06.30.2016.png (36.01 KiB) Viewed 8523 times
It should also be noted that disabling all notices like this can get you into trouble. There are a few hot keys that can mess up your day if you hit them by mistake and are not warned and it will tick you off. But you will not be able to complain because you did it to yourself.
WFV
Posts: 83
Joined: 7. Mar 2016, 13:28
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: ArchLinux; Fedora; Ubuntu; Win7pro64; WinXP
Contact:

Re: Disable update check

Post by WFV »

Ok, I see that in your screenshot and the "update" option is definitely missing in the version I'm running - I'm running VirtualBox from Arch Linux repos (Community) rev 5.0.22. Maybe getting lost in the Arch re-packaging?
VirtualBox preferences.png
VirtualBox preferences.png (36.65 KiB) Viewed 8513 times
I understand the "all" setting potential and have used VBox since 2010 without issues (or found the fixes when i effed up) :? but good advise for sure. Thanks for the help Perryg! I'll look into patching the Arch package.

Edit: found this in the package build: https://bugs.launchpad.net/bugs/272212, there is a patch in the Arch build for removing the "update" popup but is not working, it does remove the "update" button, more reading to do...
Last edited by WFV on 1. Jul 2016, 02:00, edited 3 times in total.
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Disable update check

Post by Perryg »

Yup. Sounds like it is an issue of a fork for sure. Anyway my post was not entirely for you but someone else that came by and saw yours. Not a good idea to disable all warnings as it can and will cause issues. Oh and if you compile your own you have total control over what is done and the way it works. QT is the package you need for the GUI portion if you are not a hard programmer.
WFV
Posts: 83
Joined: 7. Mar 2016, 13:28
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: ArchLinux; Fedora; Ubuntu; Win7pro64; WinXP
Contact:

Re: Disable update check

Post by WFV »

I changed the "all" setting to "Update"

Code: Select all

VBoxManage setextradata global GUI/SuppressMessages "Update"
and use the "do not show this message again" (balloon with slash thru it) on the other popups and so far seems to be working to suppress the Update popup.
Edit: the Update popups are back, setting the suppress messages to suppress Update doesn't work either.
The patch applies to 5 files: UIUpdateManager.cpp, UIActionPool.cpp, UIActionPool.h, UISettingsDialogSpecific.cpp, UISelectorWindow.cpp
Post Reply