Problems with VLAN tagged interfaces

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Solaris hosts.
Post Reply
bauer40
Posts: 37
Joined: 14. Sep 2008, 09:16

Problems with VLAN tagged interfaces

Post by bauer40 »

Hi everybody!

I try to configure my VMs to get access to a VLAN attached to the server, and fail.

My config looks like this:

Code: Select all

S11-Server ------ Network switch ----- more devices on VLAN 2 (192.168.0.x)
                               \------ more devices on VLAN 0 (192.168.94.x)
The server is running Sol11 (recent patches), VBox 4.3.6, with crossbow networking:

Code: Select all

root@infra1:~# modinfo |grep vbox
208 fffffffff7ee95b8    ce0 304   1  vboxnet (VirtualBox NetAdp 4.3.6r91406)
210 fffffffff807a000  380b0 303   1  vboxdrv (VirtualBox HostDrv 4.3.6r91406)
274 fffffffff8d7c000   3838 305   1  vboxbow (VirtualBox NetBow 4.3.6r91406)
275 fffffffff8d80000   45b0 306   1  vboxusbmon (VirtualBox USBMon 4.3.6r91406)
276 fffffffff8d85000   7528 307   1  vboxusb (VirtualBox USB 4.3.6r91406)
The server is connected to VLAN 0 and 2:

Code: Select all

root@infra1:~# dladm show-link
LINK                CLASS     MTU    STATE    OVER
net1                phys      1500   up       --
net2                phys      1500   down     --
net0                phys      1500   up       --
net3                phys      1500   down     --
vboxnet0            phys      1500   up       --
vlan2               vlan      1500   up       net0
vboxvnic0           vnic      1500   up       net0
vboxvnic1           vnic      1500   up       net0
vboxvnic2           vnic      1500   up       net1
vboxvnic3           vnic      1500   up       net0
vboxvnic4           vnic      1500   up       net0
vboxvnic5           vnic      1500   up       net0
vboxvnic6           vnic      1500   up       net1

Code: Select all

root@infra1:~# dladm show-vlan
LINK                VID      OVER                FLAGS
vlan2               2        net0                -----
In addition to that, I assigned an IP address on the physical server to the vlan2:

Code: Select all

root@infra1:~# ipadm 
NAME              CLASS/TYPE STATE        UNDER      ADDR
lo0               loopback   ok           --         --
   lo0/v4         static     ok           --         127.0.0.1/8
   lo0/v6         static     ok           --         ::1/128
net0              ip         ok           --         --
   net0/v4        static     ok           --         192.168.94.111/24
   net0/v4a       static     ok           --         192.168.94.123/24
net1              ip         ok           --         --
   net1/v4        static     ok           --         192.168.1.111/24
vlan2             ip         ok           --         --
   vlan2/v4       static     ok           --         192.168.0.71/24
From the physical server, I can ping devices both in VLAN 0 and VLAN 2. So this works.

Next, I build VMs that use bridged networking utilizing the vlan2 device. On the networking tab in VBox, the interface is shown as "vlan2 - Virtual LAN Ethernet". The VMs can communicate with each other over this link, but I cannot reach the outside world.

Any idea what I might do wrong?
Ramshankar
Oracle Corporation
Posts: 793
Joined: 7. Jan 2008, 16:17

Re: Problems with VLAN tagged interfaces

Post by Ramshankar »

Can you tell me if vboxvnicX gets created when you pass a VLAN interface (vlan2) to the VM?
Oracle Corp.
bauer40
Posts: 37
Joined: 14. Sep 2008, 09:16

Re: Problems with VLAN tagged interfaces

Post by bauer40 »

I can tell that it's not.
Ramshankar
Oracle Corporation
Posts: 793
Joined: 7. Jan 2008, 16:17

Re: Problems with VLAN tagged interfaces

Post by Ramshankar »

bauer40 wrote:I can tell that it's not.
Okay. That means using a VNIC with VLAN ID is going to be handled the same way.

Please take a look at: http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch09.h ... ctemplates
Oracle Corp.
Post Reply