[FIXED] Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings

Postings relating to old VirtualBox pre-releases

[FIXED] Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings

Postby steveh » 4. Aug 2012, 17:22

In the VirtualBox Manager GUI Network settings, if the adapter is attached to "Host-only Adapter" then the "Name" drop-down only offers "Not selected" and the following error is displayed:
On the Network: Adapter n page, no host-only network adapter is selected
This affects both new VMs and existing VMs created with earlier versions and already configured with a host-only adapter.

(Otherwise, Windows 8 RP guests are working a lot better, thanks)
Attachments
VBoxSVC.log
(2.42 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
steveh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11. Oct 2007, 00:55

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

Postby Rui Baptista » 4. Aug 2012, 19:02

Similar situation with bridged network, no adapters to select.
Old VMs wont run, giving "Nonexisting host networking interface, name "..."
Attachments
VBox.log
(2.16 KiB) Downloaded 17 times
Rui Baptista
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 23. Dec 2010, 05:03
Primary OS: Other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux, BSD

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

Postby Rui Baptista » 4. Aug 2012, 20:39

After all, host-only may work if you go to preferences and configure it manually, it's working with me :D

On the bridged network issue, the vbox bridged network driver is not installed
Attachments
novbnd.png
novbnd.png (26.59 KiB) Viewed 3753 times
Rui Baptista
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 23. Dec 2010, 05:03
Primary OS: Other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux, BSD

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

Postby Rui Baptista » 4. Aug 2012, 21:11

OK, the whole thing is working after uninstall + clean install
Rui Baptista
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 23. Dec 2010, 05:03
Primary OS: Other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux, BSD

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

Postby misha » 4. Aug 2012, 21:47

Rui Baptista wrote:OK, the whole thing is working after uninstall + clean install

This is most likely an installer Host-Only update issue. From which VBox version did you update and which Host-Only configuration (how many host-only adapters) did you have before the update?
misha
 
Posts: 289
Joined: 19. Dec 2008, 11:10

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

Postby Rui Baptista » 4. Aug 2012, 22:06

Previous version was 4.1.18-78361, and I had only the default host-only adapter.

On a side note, the replacement install suggests a windows restart, that was unusual with previous releases. And yes, I did restart. The clean install doesn't say anything. Maybe in the replacement the adapters install was postponed to after restart, and then fail?
Rui Baptista
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 23. Dec 2010, 05:03
Primary OS: Other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux, BSD

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

Postby steveh » 4. Aug 2012, 23:04

I also updated from 4.1.18. It didn't seem to matter how many adapters were defined (I created a new VM and couldn't configure even the first adapter as Host-only).
As Rui pointed out, after adding a new host-only adapter in "Preferences", things were back to normal - but I don't recall having had to do that before...
steveh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11. Oct 2007, 00:55

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

Postby Dest » 6. Aug 2012, 14:31

Same issue here. All existing virtual machines complain about invalid network adapter.

This was an upgrade from 4.1.18 (Windows 7 64bit host).

Interestingly enough, the issue has only appeared after a reboot. After initial install I didn't reboot and all virtual machines worked as expected.

The logfile reports:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
00:00:01.402558 AssertLogRel E:\tinderbox\win-rel\src\VBox\Main\src-client\ConsoleImpl2.cpp(4000) int __cdecl Console::configNetwork(const char *,unsigned int,unsigned int,struct INetworkAdapter *,struct CFGMNODE *,struct CFGMNODE *,struct CFGMNODE *,bool,bool): <NULL>
00:00:01.402571 NetworkAttachmentType_Bridged: FindByName failed, rc=E_INVALIDARG (0x80070057)VMSetError: E:\tinderbox\win-rel\src\VBox\Main\src-client\ConsoleImpl2.cpp(4001) int __cdecl Console::configNetwork(const char *,unsigned int,unsigned int,struct INetworkAdapter *,struct CFGMNODE *,struct CFGMNODE *,struct CFGMNODE *,bool,bool); rc=VERR_INTERNAL_ERROR
00:00:01.405107 VMSetError: Nonexistent host networking interface, name 'Intel(R) 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection'
00:00:01.405600 ERROR [COM]: aRC=E_ACCESSDENIED (0x80070005) aIID={db7ab4ca-2a3f-4183-9243-c1208da92392} aComponent={Console} aText={The virtual machine is not powered up}, preserve=false
00:00:01.557518 ERROR [COM]: aRC=E_FAIL (0x80004005) aIID={db7ab4ca-2a3f-4183-9243-c1208da92392} aComponent={Console} aText={Nonexistent host networking interface, name 'Intel(R) 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection' (VERR_INTERNAL_ERROR)}, preserve=false


After a full uninstall, reboot, reinstall things are working as expected
Dest
Volunteer
 
Posts: 138
Joined: 11. Jan 2008, 17:03
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 2000, Windows XP, Ubuntu, FreeBSD

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

Postby mpack » 7. Aug 2012, 12:34

I can confirm that - on an XP Pro 32bit host - if you install v4.2.0 over v4.1.18 without first uninstalling the latter, then the old host-only adapter driver is removed, but the new one is not installed. An uninstall+reinstall+reboot fixed it.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 33613
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settings (Win7

Postby misha » 7. Aug 2012, 12:47

We've reproduced and are aware of this problem. Both host-only and bridged networking drivers do not get installed properly as well as a host reboot is requested due to VBox installer issues.
This issues should be fixed soon hopefully (all our developers are currently busy with some other urgent stuff), and we'll let you know as soon as it is fixed.
The issue araises only when installing on top of some previous VBox version, so a workaround is to uninstall VBox and then install it again.
misha
 
Posts: 289
Joined: 19. Dec 2008, 11:10

Re: [FIXED] Can't select Host-only adapter in Network settin

Postby frank » 21. Aug 2012, 14:27

Fix will be part of VBox 4.2.0-RC2.
frank
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: 7. Jun 2007, 09:11
Location: Dresden, Germany
Primary OS: Debian Sid
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows


Return to Old Beta Postings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests