vdi + snapshot = vdi

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

vdi + snapshot = vdi

Postby DBG » 20. Nov 2007, 23:12

well, this might be an easy question, but i don't know the answer.

i have a vdi file - static image of hard drive. i made a snapshot. now i want to "perform" these difference that are in snapshot file to the image, so that i have the single file again that i could use to connect to another VM
DBG
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 15. Nov 2007, 19:51

Postby coldstart » 20. Nov 2007, 23:29

VirtualBox can do this for you. Let's say you've got this setup:

Snapshot 1
Snapshot 2
current state (changed)

and you want to have the current state as the only vdi file.

1. Make a snapshot of the current state, say Snapshot 3
2. Discard snapshots 1 and 2 from top (that is 1 before 2) by right-clicking them in the Snapshots pane

Virtualbox will merge the present state (aka Snapshot 3) into the VDI file.
coldstart
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 20. Nov 2007, 22:25

Postby DBG » 21. Nov 2007, 01:00

thanks!
DBG
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 15. Nov 2007, 19:51

Postby rick00 » 2. Jan 2008, 09:53

Hi!

Sorry, but what is with snapshot 3?

e.g.:

I´ve got my system hard disk image (fix-size-image)where Win XP is installed.

Now lets say i´ve got this setup:

snapshot 1
snapshot 2
current state changed

...to save the current statate of the machine i make a 3rd snapshot

snapshot 1
snapshot 2
snapshot 3
current state

.... now i can merge snapshot 1 with snapshot 2 when I discard snapshot 1 and merge snapshot 2 with snapshot 3 by discarding snapshot 2.
o.k

now I have the following setup:

snapshot 3
current state

there is still 1 snapshot left => no fixed-size-image shown in the detailed view. I´ve got a dynamically expanding image.

So how can I merge snapshot 3 to the base vdi File WITHOUT data loss?
When I discard Snapshot 3 I lost my data.

MFG Rick
rick00
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 24. Jun 2007, 18:31

Postby rick00 » 3. Jan 2008, 09:36

Hi!

Please can anybody explain this to me?
I´ve got still problems to understand this procedure.

ThanX Rick
rick00
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 24. Jun 2007, 18:31

Postby virtualClone » 6. Feb 2008, 19:23

This way worked for me:
i started to delete the first snapshot (snapshot 1)
and virtualbox saved the changes to the winxp.vdi
then i deleted snapshot 2 and 3.
all snapshots have been saved to winxp.vdi :)
it just remained the "current state changed" entry.
virtualClone
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 6. Feb 2008, 19:16

Postby IBBoard » 14. May 2008, 21:34

Ahah! Just what I needed :) I'd taken snapshots at certain stages of the install (because I'm running Windows in VB under Linux just to run VS.Net 2005) and the difference files were quite big. Despite only have a few gigs of virtual disk used, I think I was using twice as much in difference files!

If only it was more obvious (e.g. a "merge" button?) then I wouldn't have felt averse to deleting the snapshots. Before I read this I thought I might mangle something or lose the snapshot I discarded and all of the snapshots down the tree :)
IBBoard
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 4. Feb 2008, 20:19


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests