Help IMPORTing OVAs

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.

Help IMPORTing OVAs

Postby o1sowise » 24. May 2012, 16:25

I've been given three .OVAs that usually run under VMware.

I was able to import one successfully, but the other two fail:
Failed to import appliance

Internal error (VERR_TAR_CHKSUM_MISMATCH).

Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component: Appliance
Interface: IAppliance {3059cf9e-25c7-4f0b-9fa5-3c42e441670b}


When I asked the guy who sent the VMs to me if he could verify that the OVA files are usable, he said:
The most likely cause of this failure is that your selected data store is not configured to handle vdisks bigger than 256G, which is the default config for VMFS blocksize. If the DB import worked but the other 2 failed this is almost certainly the issue.

I have downloaded and installed those images successfully at another site so I believe the upload is good.


Reading the UserManual, I could not figure out how to modify the IMPORT command to do what he's suggesting.
Any help or advice is appreciated.
Last edited by o1sowise on 31. May 2012, 21:36, edited 2 times in total.
____
John
o1sowise
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 17. Sep 2011, 19:37
Location: Wayne, NJ, USA
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: WinXP, Red Hat

Re: Help IMPORTing OVAs

Postby o1sowise » 31. May 2012, 20:31

BTW: I re-downloaded the OVA files, same error.
Last edited by o1sowise on 31. May 2012, 21:36, edited 2 times in total.
____
John
o1sowise
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 17. Sep 2011, 19:37
Location: Wayne, NJ, USA
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: WinXP, Red Hat

Re: Help IMPORTing OVAs

Postby ChipMcK » 31. May 2012, 21:06

o1sowise wrote:I've been given three .OVAs that usually run under VMware..
That means to me that the VMware Tools are installed and those tools do not play nice with VB, which has Guest Additions.
ChipMcK
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1096
Joined: 20. May 2009, 02:17
Location: U S of A
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, OSX

Re: Help IMPORTing OVAs

Postby o1sowise » 31. May 2012, 21:11

ChipMcK wrote:
o1sowise wrote:I've been given three .OVAs that usually run under VMware..
That means to me that the VMware Tools are installed and those tools do not play nice with VB, which has Guest Additions.

Are VMware Tools at all equatable to Guest Additions?
I don't want to spend forever trying to fit it in if it is not "fitable".
____
John
o1sowise
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 17. Sep 2011, 19:37
Location: Wayne, NJ, USA
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: WinXP, Red Hat

Re: Help IMPORTing OVAs

Postby mpack » 1. Jun 2012, 11:48

Having the VMWare tools installed may well kill a VM, but they wouldn't cause a "tar checksum mismatch" error. The checksum mismatch means a corrupted file. I won't speculate on why it's still corrupted after a second download - there are several possible reasons (pilot error, unreliable comms, corrupted at source etc).
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30061
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Help IMPORTing OVAs

Postby o1sowise » 1. Jun 2012, 15:39

The guy who provided the VMs tested them out on his side. He even provided a screen shot.
The guy wrote:Bad news... the images are fine. I downloaded them, installed, configured and booted them without any problems.
I wrote:I'm not using VMware directly, I'm using VirtualBox on my Mac. Maybe VirtualBox isn't emulating that well. I'm going to try Parallels and see if that works.

Do you happen to have an extra license for VMware on the Mac?
The guy wrote:John, you will never be able to run these images reliably on any Mac/Windows version of VMWare. Believe me, we have tried. You must run them on a hardware-installed version of ESXi (which is free from vmware.com with registration) or the commercial vSphere product. There is tons of information out there on the web regarding putting together a cheap 'white box' vmware machine with ESXi.

I think we found the problem. ;)
Any suggestions on how/if I can run these VMs under VirtualBox?
____
John
o1sowise
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 17. Sep 2011, 19:37
Location: Wayne, NJ, USA
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: WinXP, Red Hat


Return to VirtualBox on Mac OS X Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests