Running a .vmdk in VirtualBox, does not boot XP

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Running a .vmdk in VirtualBox, does not boot XP

Postby dario.zgrablic » 25. Nov 2010, 22:37

So I have a set .vmdks & related files that I am trying to boot a VM from.

If I run it with VMWare Player it works without a hitch. If I run it in VirtualBox, all I get after the initial page is just a black screen. If I "power off" the VM from that point and boot it again, I get the warning that the machine was not properly shut down, with 3 Safe Mode choices, 1 Last know good configuration choice and 1 Start Windows Normally. Either of the latter two yield the same black screen while the Safe Mode choices all stop at agpCPQ.sys.

Any idea why this may be? I'm wiling to provide more information if necessary.
dario.zgrablic
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 25. Nov 2010, 19:02
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP

Re: Running a .vmdk in VirtualBox, does not boot XP

Postby Perryg » 25. Nov 2010, 22:54

Try booting in safe mode and either rename or delete intelppm.sys
See if it will boot then. Also the settings for the guest must match as close as possible and the VMware additions need to be removed.
You then install the VirtualBox guest additions for all the benefits.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Running a .vmdk in VirtualBox, does not boot XP

Postby dario.zgrablic » 25. Nov 2010, 23:04

Perryg wrote:Try booting in safe mode and either rename or delete intelppm.sys
See if it will boot then. Also the settings for the guest must match as close as possible and the VMware additions need to be removed.
You then install the VirtualBox guest additions for all the benefits.


Unfortunately it won't even finish booting to get into safe mode.

And when you say settings for the guest, how do I ensure they are as close as possible?
dario.zgrablic
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 25. Nov 2010, 19:02
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP

Re: Running a .vmdk in VirtualBox, does not boot XP

Postby Perryg » 25. Nov 2010, 23:11

Well you would open it back in your player and see what the setting are. Actually you can rename the file while you have it booted in the player. You should also remove the other additions while it is booted in the other virtualizer too.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25964
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: Running a .vmdk in VirtualBox, does not boot XP

Postby mpack » 26. Nov 2010, 17:35

Turn the "IO APIC" option on.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13216
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Running a .vmdk in VirtualBox, does not boot XP

Postby dario.zgrablic » 26. Nov 2010, 18:34

Made the following changes:
- Removed VMWare Tools
- Renamed intelppm.sys to tempintelppm.oldsys
- Used VBoxManage to create another version as a .vdi

It's still booting the same way.

One thing I do notice on the indicator for the IDE Controller is that it is flashing the "green light" while working, and the last thing I see before it has no more indicator is a brief flash of the "red light".
dario.zgrablic
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 25. Nov 2010, 19:02
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP

Re: Running a .vmdk in VirtualBox, does not boot XP

Postby mpack » 26. Nov 2010, 22:30

To repeat :-

Turn the "IO APIC" option on.

This is not a suggestion or a speculation. Hanging on a black screen when booting a VMware VM is nearly always happens because VMWare defaults to IO APIC on, VirtualBox defaults to having it turned off. Either turn IO APIC on or use the HALu tool to change your HAL. Windows will not boot with the wrong HAL.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13216
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Running a .vmdk in VirtualBox, does not boot XP

Postby dario.zgrablic » 26. Nov 2010, 22:45

mpack wrote:To repeat :-

Turn the "IO APIC" option on.

This is not a suggestion or a speculation. Hanging on a black screen when booting a VMware VM is nearly always happens because VMWare defaults to IO APIC on, VirtualBox defaults to having it turned off. Either turn IO APIC on or use the HALu tool to change your HAL. Windows will not boot with the wrong HAL.


Thanks mpack! That seems to have worked! :D The machine has booted into the Ctrl-Alt-Del screen!

I will let you know if I encounter any more issues!
dario.zgrablic
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 25. Nov 2010, 19:02
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Poci and 43 guests