bridged adapter: no bridged network adapter is selected

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

bridged adapter: no bridged network adapter is selected

Postby rilawich » 29. Sep 2010, 03:49

Hi, I change my network setting from NAT to bridged but there is an error shown.
[On the Network: Adapter 1 page, no bridged network adapter is selected]
I tried uninstall and install again but bridged doesn't work with the same error.
Does anyone can give me clue to fix it?
thanks, ango
rilawich
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 29. May 2007, 07:58

Re: bridged adapter: no bridged network adapter is selected

Postby BillG » 29. Sep 2010, 04:13

Please update your profile so that we know what OS you are running on the host machine.

What NIC(s) do you have in the host? If the host is running Windows, look at the properties of a NIC from the host OS. Do you see an entry for VirtualBox Bridged Network Driver? Does it have a checkmark in the box?
BillG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2200
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 04:44
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary OS: MS Windows 8
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win 7, Win8, Windows Server 2008&2012

Re: bridged adapter: no bridged network adapter is selected

Postby rilawich » 29. Sep 2010, 04:38

screenshot.6.png
screenshot.6.png (17.39 KiB) Viewed 4144 times
Here is my profile.

virtual box version: 3.2.8
host: windows xp,
host NIC: Intel 82567 LM-3 Gigabit & VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter
guest: fedora

When choosing Bridged Adapter in the network setting, the drop down list in the name only show "Not selected" and no other option. In advanced, there is an adapter type shown as "Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop".
rilawich
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 29. May 2007, 07:58

Re: bridged adapter: no bridged network adapter is selected

Postby BillG » 30. Sep 2010, 04:43

The message is telling you that VirtualBox cannot find any NIC in the host to bridge to. Check the properties of the NIC(s) in the host as suggested earlier. If there is no VirtualBox driver shown, try doing a repair install of VirtualBox.
BillG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 2200
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 04:44
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary OS: MS Windows 8
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win 7, Win8, Windows Server 2008&2012


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests