I cannot ping using host-only network

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

Re: I cannot ping using host-only network

Postby maxqua72 » 8. Jul 2010, 16:20

No, I'm sure ssh port is always open. If I enable the internet connection I can ping on 192.168.2.6 which is the IP address of the guest in bridged network. but I never can ping to 10.10.1.101
maxqua72
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 3. Jul 2010, 06:14
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: ubuntu

Re: I cannot ping using host-only network

Postby Perryg » 8. Jul 2010, 16:50

If you look at your last post
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Oracle VM VirtualBox Command Line Management Interface Version 3.2.6
(C) 2005-2010 Oracle Corporation
All rights reserved.

NetworkName:    HostInterfaceNetworking-VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter
IP:             0.0.0.0
NetworkMask:    0.0.0.0
lowerIPAddress: 0.0.0.0
upperIPAddress: 0.0.0.0
Enabled:        No

The Host-Only mode is not configured. The 10.*.*.* address is not what I would expect to see here. The usually range is 192.168.56.*
Open the preference section of the main VBox GUI and then network and the click the screw driver (edit mode)

Make sure that the information is as follows.

    Adapter address 192.168.56.1
    Mask 255.255.255.0
Next click the DHCP Server tab and set it to the following
    Address 192.168.56.100
    mask 255.255.255.0
    Lower address 192.168.56.101
    Upper address 192.168.56.254
Make sure there is a check mark in the Enable Server
Click ok and save.

Start the guest and set the network to obtain the address via DHCP and save. You may need to reboot to see the changes.
If for any reason you should not have the DHCP server running then do not put the check mark in the Enable Server and use the above network configuration and set the guest manually
Address 192.168.56.101
mask 255.255.255.0
gateway leave blank
Now the host will be 192.168.56.1 and the guest will be 192.168.56.101
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25937
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: I cannot ping using host-only network

Postby maxqua72 » 8. Jul 2010, 17:23

I'm gonna try with your addresses but in the meanwhile my question is:
- is it possible to use an address different from the default? I mean I meant to use a static ip 10.10.1.100 for the guest, is that possible or I have to use necessarily the 192.168.56.* and with dinamic ip?
maxqua72
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 3. Jul 2010, 06:14
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: ubuntu

Re: I cannot ping using host-only network

Postby Perryg » 8. Jul 2010, 17:36

You can but this requires that you know how to set it up on the host and the guest. You can try to substitute the information with what I have given you but they must be correct.
Adapter 10.10.1.1 will give the Host that address. Then (if you don't use the DHCP server) static set the guest to 10.10.1.100
masks on both 255.0.0.0 and no gateway.

Any reason that you must use the 10.10.1.* address range? Just curious
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25937
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: I cannot ping using host-only network

Postby kelly » 8. Jul 2010, 18:41

@Perryg

My actually a problem 1 (and is the same until now) is that i can't talk between the host and the guest.

I read your manuel and it suppose to be easy to install VBox...i don't think so.... i don't still start my real work....so please tell me where is mistake ? if we don't find solution i had to use my old guest VMweare...

Not to have doubts i deleted the default gateway and i the ping from host to guest and from guest to host don't work.

new config :

===network access mode : NAT

===Windows Host :
Ethernet VirtualBox Host-Only Network:
Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion :
Adresse IP. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.1
Masque de sous-réseau . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Passerelle par défaut . . . . . . :

===VBox guest
Carte Ethernet Connexion au reseau local :
Suffixe DNS propre à la connexion :
Adresse IP. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.99
Masque de sous-réseau . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Passerelle par défaut . . . . . . :

information :
i tried to change the network access mode : host private network
ping from guest to host : it's ok
ping from host to guest : nok


Other problem 2
I suppose there is The Guest Additions (GA) with the PUEL installer because i can't see my folder on guest..
we talk about this problem 2 after resolved the problem 1. i talk about bc the GA use the network too (problem 1) and perhaps the really problem is th GA ?

Thanks
kelly
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 7. Jul 2010, 22:28
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: ms win XP

Re: I cannot ping using host-only network

Postby Perryg » 8. Jul 2010, 19:39

network access mode : NAT

I am sorry you are having so much trouble but 99% of the time it is just a configuration problem.
I don't know why the above is showing because it should not if you are not using NAT.
I do know that if you leave everything as default it always works. The only things that can influence this is Using a guest that has been used in VMware and not removing their additions before you use it in VirtualBox. Not saying yes to all of the install question when Installing VirtualBox in the host. Plus Firewall settings or a few Virus programs that watch the network. Unfortunately I am not there or this would be an easy process to fix.

Below is what XP looks like with the adapter set to host only.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Windows IP Configuration

        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : xppro-1
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 4:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : AMD PCNET Family PCI Ethernet Adapter #2
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-00-27-C9-9A-2C
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.101
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
        DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.100
        Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, July 08, 2010 12:25:09 PM
        Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, July 08, 2010 1:25:09 PM

And the corresponding part of the Host

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Ethernet adapter VirtualBox Host-Only Network:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter
   Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-00-27-00-64-82
   DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
   Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::69ed:ae25:5331:d0e2%21(Preferred)
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.1(Preferred)
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 352845863
   DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-67-89-9A-00-1A-4D-F9-2D-67

   DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
                                       fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
                                       fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
   NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


GAs will not cause the host-Only to fail but we can address that one after you get the network fixed.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25937
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: I cannot ping using host-only network

Postby maxqua72 » 8. Jul 2010, 22:51

Hi again,
I did the try but still neither host can ping the guest nor the guest is able to ping the host.
I used Putty to connect via SSH and the message is:
PuTTY Fatal Error:
Network error: Connection timed out

Please Perryg, I need the static ip in the guest because there will run a DNS and an http server, I believed the setting was ok, for that reason I expected to find all zeros in the output of VBoxManage. If that configuration was not ok please tell me what was wrong.

About the addresses 10.10.1.* I just followed an article in the web using those address and as they are easy to remember I used them.

Here the outputs of the command you suggested, but maybe it worth noting that the name of the host-only adapter in the host is not "Ethernet adapter VirtualBox Host-Only Network" in the ipconfig command output. Is that a clue for you?:

VBoxManage.exe list -l dhcpservers:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Oracle VM VirtualBox Command Line Management Interface Version 3.2.6
(C) 2005-2010 Oracle Corporation
All rights reserved.

NetworkName:    HostInterfaceNetworking-VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter
IP:             192.168.56.100
NetworkMask:    255.255.255.0
lowerIPAddress: 192.168.56.101
upperIPAddress: 192.168.56.254
Enabled:        Yes


ipconfig:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e1c5:6813:b36f:56e1%31
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.56.1
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e9f8:5033:5e1a:6940%15
   IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.4
   Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 17:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
   Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.2.4%30
   Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 22:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 25:

   Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
   Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :



ifconfig -a
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
eth3      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 08:00:27:aa:d0:f8 
          indirizzo inet:192.168.56.101  Bcast:192.168.56.255  Maschera:255.255.255.0
          indirizzo inet6: fe80::a00:27ff:feaa:d0f8/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:19 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisioni:0 txqueuelen:1000
          Byte RX:1637 (1.6 KB)  Byte TX:1829 (1.8 KB)
          Interrupt:10 Indirizzo base:0xd240

lo        Link encap:Loopback locale 
          indirizzo inet:127.0.0.1  Maschera:255.0.0.0
          indirizzo inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisioni:0 txqueuelen:0
          Byte RX:648 (648.0 B)  Byte TX:648 (648.0 B)


maxqua72
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 3. Jul 2010, 06:14
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: ubuntu

Re: I cannot ping using host-only network

Postby kelly » 12. Jul 2010, 21:06

hi
i use access mode : private network guest whereas ur manuel write access mode : NAT....misled...
now is ok but i have an other pb with share folder....

i think ill be back with VMweare...
Thanks for ur help
kelly
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 7. Jul 2010, 22:28
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: ms win XP

Previous

Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 24 guests