VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.

VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby johanz » 2. Feb 2010, 19:50

So I got a problem. Latest version of VB is using 100% of my cpu after random intervals of usage. I have to restart it to fix this problem, but later it returns.
VB version: VirtualBox-3.1.2-56127-Win
Both guest and host are windows XP sp3. Even if I have only 1 core assigned, it still uses both to the max. It wasn't a problem in earlier versions.
Precessor is core 2 duo E6750 @ 2.66ghz
Last edited by johanz on 3. Feb 2010, 18:58, edited 2 times in total.
johanz
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 4. Jan 2009, 22:27

Re: VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby vbox4me2 » 2. Feb 2010, 21:48

Try process explorer in the Guest.
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby johanz » 2. Feb 2010, 22:00

In guest there is nothing, only the usual 2-10% of usage, while in main, the virtualbox .exe uses 90-100%, which also makes my guest to be very slow.
I find it strange how guest reports only 2% of usage, while freezing and working slow.
johanz
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 4. Jan 2009, 22:27

Re: VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby vbox4me2 » 2. Feb 2010, 22:21

Disable the host/guest firewalls for a while.
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby johanz » 2. Feb 2010, 23:05

Doesn't change a thing. Still after a while it goes to 100%
johanz
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 4. Jan 2009, 22:27

Re: VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby MarkCranness » 3. Feb 2010, 06:10

I've seen both the firewall related CPU problem and an IO APIC related CPU problem with my guest, the IO APIC problem since VirtualBox 3.0.8.

Do you have Guest Additions installed in the guest? If not, try installing it (there is a fix in the GA to fix a CPU usage problem).
If that does not work (or you already have GA installed), then:

1) Please add your details to this bug report ticket: Huge IO-APIC/guest SMP overhead with 32 bits guests (you will need to register a new account: Use the 'Register' link at the top-right of the bug ticket page.)

2) Use HALu to change the guest XP HAL, and change it to 'Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC'.

My own experience (and others) is that VirtualBox does not handle SMP (Multiprocessor) VMs well: Often the host CPU goes to 100% for no reason, even when the guest is idle.

These HALs require IO APIC enabled and may have host CPU usage problems:
ACPI Multiprocessor PC (HALu=ACPI Multiproccesor PC)
ACPI Uniprocessor PC (HALu=ACPI Uniproccesor PC)

This HAL doesn't care about IO APIC and will not have host CPU usage problems:
Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC (HALu=ACPI PC)
MarkCranness
Volunteer
 
Posts: 875
Joined: 10. Oct 2009, 06:27
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows Server 2008 R2; Ubuntu 11.04; Windows 2000 Server; Windows XP

Re: VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby johanz » 3. Feb 2010, 17:42

Still goes to 100%
johanz
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 4. Jan 2009, 22:27

Re: VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby MarkCranness » 4. Feb 2010, 05:14

Some have reported that HALu show no error messages but will fail to change the HAL.
After running HALu and rebooting, check the HAL used to make sure that HALu has changed it.
Desktop > My Computer > Manage > Device Manager > Computer (expand tree) > check the text under the 'Computer' node.
MarkCranness
Volunteer
 
Posts: 875
Joined: 10. Oct 2009, 06:27
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows Server 2008 R2; Ubuntu 11.04; Windows 2000 Server; Windows XP

Re: VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby howard_b_golden » 6. Feb 2010, 02:41

Re: MarkCranness » 3. Feb 2010, 06:10:

I followed your directions (partially) and it worked for me. I selected ACPI Multiprocessor PC for the HAL. (I'm running VB on Gentoo on an AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400+.)

Thanks!
howard_b_golden
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 6. Feb 2010, 02:28
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP

Re: VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby HighlyConfused » 9. Feb 2010, 01:44

This is what I am looking for = 1core of guest using 4 cores on host at 90% or more = perfect for me.
Now I can run single threaded app fully on a quad core host. TY.

Would you be so kind as to post the settings you have in the systems tab for motherboard processor and acceleration of virtualbox guest.

Storage piix or ich6 ? Heck all the settings and specific version of xp, I have oem xp pro sp2 + sp3 patch will this work ?

TY
HighlyConfused
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 7. Feb 2010, 21:20
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: several

Re: VB using 100% of my cpu all the time

Postby Ellie » 12. Nov 2010, 12:09

Hi, Firstly I am sorry if this question has been answered elsewhere - I hate asking for help on forums because of the sheer number of people who give patronising answers because they expect what they deem trivial and obvious to be the same for others.... which is simply not the case. I do not understand most of this thread but from its title it seems the most appropriate place to post. I have spent hours trawling the web and suspect a lot of the problem is that I don't really know what question I am looking to solve. I will explain the situation and I will provide any information if I am told how to obtain it... for eg, people seem to post log files but I have no idea where these are!

So, here goes:

For many years I have successfully run vbox on windows hosts (XP, Vista and 7) with a linux guest. Most recently I had (64 bit) Ubuntu 10.04 LTS running with both procs on (64 bit) Windows 7 with no problem. However, my hard drive failed so I decided to change my main OS to linux as I prefer it and run M$ as a VM as I still need it sometimes (and WINE does not do things such as Live Mesh). Everything is the same on the machine other than the hard drive, and I doubt that will make any difference. The other things are having an up to date vbox and running on linux...

I am running (64 bit) Fedora 14 as my host and (64 bit) Windows 7 as my one and only guest. I have a dual core AMD 64 TK-53 and 1.5 Gig RAM, half of which is assigned to the win7 when running. RAM is no problem, runs almost constantly at 60% in the VM. However, whether I set the VM as single of dual core it uses 100% CPU, in both the VM and host, even when the VM is doing nothing. Even when it is set up with a single proc, both the host and guest are effectively rendered useless and just wastes my time achieving nothing, not to mention the noise of the fan driving me up the wall.

I do not know where to look or what to do, and I am so v, v frustrated with the whole thing. (Does anyone know if there are the same problems with other programs such as VMWare??). I am afraid I do not know what Hal is, or ACPI, or SMP and when I try to find out I get in more of a muddle so I give up.

Please, please somebody help me!

Many Thanks!
Ellie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12. Nov 2010, 11:36
Primary OS: Fedora other
VBox Version: OSE Fedora
Guest OSses: Windows 7


Return to VirtualBox on Windows Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 55 guests