Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Windows hosts.
Post Reply
xtremeshredder
Posts: 5
Joined: 11. Jan 2010, 23:05
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows XP

Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Post by xtremeshredder »

OS: Windows 7 x86
I am trying to upgrade virtual box from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2, but when running the 3.1.2 installer i get this error message

Windows Installer
The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable.

Click OK to try again, or enter an alternate path to a folder containing the installation package "VirtualBox-3.0.12-r54655-MultiArch_x86.msi" in the box below.
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Post by Perryg »

Where is the actual install file stored? Is it on a network drive?
xtremeshredder
Posts: 5
Joined: 11. Jan 2010, 23:05
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows XP

Re: Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Post by xtremeshredder »

do you mean the installer that installs 3.1.2, if so, it is not in a network drive it is in my downloads folder.
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Post by Perryg »

Well I would check the MD5 on it. Sounds like a bad download.
You may have to uninstall the current version to install the new one as well.
There were some major upgrades and some found it easier to to uninstall first.
Be sure to backup your virtualbox.xml and the machine xml files. You can not revert back from the new version unless you have these backups.
xtremeshredder
Posts: 5
Joined: 11. Jan 2010, 23:05
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows XP

Re: Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Post by xtremeshredder »

i tried redownloading it, still the same issue, tried to uninstall, i get the same error...
Perryg
Site Moderator
Posts: 34369
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Post by Perryg »

Where are you getting the install file from?
Are you certain that you have the right install file? (VirtualBox-3.1.2-56127Win.exe)
xtremeshredder
Posts: 5
Joined: 11. Jan 2010, 23:05
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows XP

Re: Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Post by xtremeshredder »

I got it from this site, and yes that is the name of the file.
MarkCranness
Volunteer
Posts: 875
Joined: 10. Oct 2009, 06:27
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows Server 2008 R2; Ubuntu 11.04; Windows 2000 Server; Windows XP

Re: Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Post by MarkCranness »

It sounds like the 3.1.2 install is first trying to uninstall the 3.0.12 version, but can't find the 3.0.12 msi file to do so, because it was on a network drive mo longer accessible.
Try downloading the older 3.0.12 version from here: http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Download_Old_Builds
... and running it. It should provide a 'Remove' button that can be used to un-install 3.0.12 and then the 3.1.2 install should be OK.
(I have uninstalled 3.0.12 and installed 3.1.x multiple times in the last few days and my VMs and VDIs always survived OK.)
xtremeshredder
Posts: 5
Joined: 11. Jan 2010, 23:05
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows XP

Re: Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Post by xtremeshredder »

Thank you, that worked. :)
ianox
Posts: 1
Joined: 1. Apr 2010, 12:37
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: ASDF

Re: Problem upgrading from 3.0.12 to 3.1.2

Post by ianox »

I had the problem where I could NOT uninstall 3.0.12, got complaints about a missing ....msi file.
I re downloaded 3.0.12, installed it and clicked the remove option.
It is gone, Now I have 3.1.6.
.
No its not an April fool!!
Post Reply