I actually want drag and drop!

Here you can provide suggestions on how to improve the product, website, etc.
stevobm

I actually want drag and drop!

Post by stevobm »

I'm a student in China, who have used Virtualbox for 6 years. I have also seen the growth of VB these years. However, I can't give up another VM while I'm using VB, whose name is VirtualPC. Sound incredible, right ? It's an old software, released in 2007(the version I use), but why can't I get rid of it ? The true reason is its perfect drag-and-drop support ! Even after so many years of the endeavor, I still can't drag a file into and out of VB elegantly. Maybe you will say, it's out of consideration of security and there are many other ways to share files as well. But what can be easier than a simple drag ? Why should we do it more complex ? More, if you don't provide drag and drop ,user will still put file in and out anyway, it's no more safe than drag itself. In a word, I want it, I want drag and drop, and I have been waiting for it for years, and around me ,there are millions of users like me are looking forward to it. I register this account to make our voices, wishing to get your attention!
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: I actually want drag and drop!

Post by mpack »

stevobm wrote:Maybe you will say, it's out of consideration of security and there are many other ways to share files as well.
That's exactly what I'll say.
VickersNick
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
Guest OSses: XP, 7, Ubuntu, Mint

Post by VickersNick »

Well, in theory, drag and drop does exist but it only works from host > Linux guests. Per the manual:
Drag’n’Drop
This setting allows to enable Drag and Drop: Select a file on the desktop, click the
left mouse button, move the mouse to the VM window and release the mouse button. The
file is copied from the host to the guest. This feature is currently only implemented for