Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Here you can provide suggestions on how to improve the product, website, etc.

Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Postby TenLeftFingers » 7. Jan 2014, 13:07

I tried posting something with no urls but got the error: You must be a member for 1 days and have 1 posts before you can post urls.

I removed any ampersands, colons or slashes but still get it. Is there a work around for this?
TenLeftFingers
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 7. Jan 2014, 11:24

Re: Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Postby mpack » 7. Jan 2014, 14:22

Yes, the workaround is to wait for a day, and post at least one message.

Or, ask your question without including external URLs. Yes, I know what you wrote: but the last time I had someone saying that he didn't post a URL... he did, in fact he clearly did. If you like you can PM me with the text of what you were trying to post, and I'll tell you what's wrong with it.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25483
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Postby cjames » 21. Jul 2015, 02:10

I'm posting a reply, not because I want to, but because the system won't let me submit my topic either, even though it clearly doesn't contain any URLs.

I appreciate the need to avoid spam, but the filters ought to work correctly. I worked for hours to produce a complete bug report, and need help ASAP, but I guess I'll have to wait until tomorrow afternoon to even get started. Very frustrating.
cjames
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 21. Jul 2015, 00:55

Re: Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Postby Perryg » 21. Jul 2015, 02:23

IP addresses or even the word url or http will trigger the filter. If you need to post right away and are sure that the post is valid put it in a text file and post as an attachment. Then we can see it and tell if it is valid. Be sure to note this in the topic and I said to do so.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34267
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Postby nbyloff » 15. Oct 2015, 17:10

Sorry, I'm doing the same thing here. Trying to make a post (will post tomorrow I guess) even though it has no URLs.
nbyloff
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 15. Oct 2015, 16:50

Re: Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Postby Perryg » 15. Oct 2015, 17:47

And again it has to have something that is translating to a URL or IP address.
Post the content in a txt file and attach it if you think this is in error.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34267
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Postby David2015 » 1. Dec 2015, 01:28

I have the same problem, I will try to post tomorrow.
David2015
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 30. Nov 2015, 20:54

Re: Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Postby mpack » 1. Dec 2015, 11:10

Inability to read seems to be the main problem in this topic: where is the text attachment?
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25483
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Postby optimal » 8. Sep 2017, 16:28

I'm seeing the same thing. No URLs, just internally-linked images. Ironic that a forum for such an advanced product has such basic flaws.
optimal
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 7. Sep 2017, 22:07

Re: Not allowed to post with urls, but my post has none?

Postby socratis » 8. Sep 2017, 16:53

Of course you're seeing the same thing, you're not any special user. You just registered, so you'll have to wait for the restrictions to be lifted. Like everyone else.

And don't think them as board flaws, they're very carefully thought counter-spam measures.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12684
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests