Audio not working

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.
Fraggle2

Audio not working

Post by Fraggle2 »

Hi,

thank you for providing VirtualBox on MacOs.

I have installed VirtualBox 6.1.2 on the latest MacOs Catalina, on a 2018 Mac Mini. Inside Windows 10 x64 is running with the guest additions installed.
Unfortunately the sound is not working. Windows seems to play sounds but I can not hear them. Furthermore, all Mac applications are also silenced until I shut down the VM.
I have read that quite a few other people have this or a similar problem. You recommended to "simplify" the sound setup. But I don't see anything special about my setup, I have external speakers plugged into the mac, enabled this in the system settings - that's it. The VirtualBox sound settings are unchanged from default.

Could you help me with this problem and guide me through debugging this problem if needed? I am quite new to MacOs.

Thank you and Regards.
saijanai

Re: Audio not working

Post by saijanai »

I am thinking that VIrtual Box is not playing nice with Mac Catalina. You need to be able to give access for sound and microphone and such via the security/privacy panel, but VIrtual BOx never requests it and so your sound doesn't work.

At least, it needs to request microphone access, and never does. Not sure if sound access request is required, but I can't get input OR output out of Mac host catalina and Mac guest High Sierra.
ncj

Post by ncj »

I have what appears as the same issue. During the boot, the audio for the host disappears. It appears to make no difference if the audio for the VM guest enabled or not. I've booted with and without the guest extensions, both exhibit the same outcome. Host is macOS Catalina that is up to date.

After the VM is shutdown, the host audio will return, but it has a slight echo at the end of any audio play, just as the audio ends it stutters.

I've attached to logs show with and without extensions.
Attachments
logs.zip