[Resolved] VBoxGuestAdditions.iso (VERR_PDM_MEDIA_LOCKED)

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.
Basaka

[Resolved] VBoxGuestAdditions.iso (VERR_PDM_MEDIA_LOCKED)

Post by Basaka »

Hello, I'm very new to Virtualbox and my instructor refuses to respond to me. I'm getting an error code trying to insert Guest Additions CD image and I don't understand.
Unable to insert the virtual optical disk /Applications/VirtualBox.app/Contents/MacOS/VBoxGuestAdditions.iso into the machine CentOS 7.

Could not mount the media/drive '/Applications/VirtualBox.app/Contents/MacOS/VBoxGuestAdditions.iso' (VERR_PDM_MEDIA_LOCKED).

Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component: ConsoleWrap
Interface: IConsole {872da645-4a9b-1727-bee2-5585105b9eed}
Callee: IMachine {5047460a-265d-4538-b23e-ddba5fb84976}
This is the error I keep getting and going back in the instructions given to me, I didn't miss a thing. Could it be my computer?

I have a late 2009 model MacBook Air with Hi-Sierra
Intel Core 2 Duo 64-bit
5 gb of RAM

Any and all help will be much appreciated. Please keep instructions simple, too. Again I'm very new and rusty when it comes to Computers. Also! I'm trying to run CentOS 7 as a Virtual Machine, if that helps at all.

-Thank you!
Last edited by socratis on 14. Aug 2019, 01:14, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Marked as [Resolved].
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: VBoxGuestAdditions.iso (VERR_PDM_MEDIA_LOCKED)

Post by socratis »

Basaka wrote:VBoxGuestAdditions.iso' (VERR_PDM_MEDIA_LOCKED)
Something has locked your VBoxGuestAdditions.iso.

Shut down all your VMs. And I don't mean "Saved State" or "Paused", but completely shut them down. If you already have them in "Saved State" or "Paused", then resume the VM and from within the guest OS shutdown the guest OS.