VirtualBox captures USB but windows guest doesn't

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.
UpstateCabling

VirtualBox captures USB but windows guest doesn't

Post by UpstateCabling »

Hey guys,

I am new to Mac and I need to be able to get into Windows to do some programming on switches and some other network equipment. I am hoping you guys can help me. I am currently running Mac OS 10.14.6. I just installed VirtualBox, and I installed Windows. I installed guest additions on the Windows VM and the extension pack on the Mac side. I also changed the settings to do USB 3.0 (I have tried 1.1, 2 and 3 and none of them work).

So what is happening is when I connect my usb drive it disconnects from the Mac and sometimes the Windows VM will say nothing, other times it will give an error about not being able to create a proxy which then it normally happens because I manually disconnect it from the Mac I presume. Other times it will say that it is already capturing the usb drive. I look on the Windows OS and I see nothing. I go into Administrative tools and disc management and it isn't listed there either, but it did install a USB root driver. I have been messing with this for a while, and I even uninstalled VirtualBox but left the VM alone and I rebooted the host system and still nothing.

I will attach the log files as well!

Thanks for any help you can give me!
Attachments
Archive.zip
(108.05 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: VirtualBox captures USB but windows guest doesn't

Post by socratis »

Please read the following thread: USB basics and troubleshooting, all of the posts.

If you still have a problem after reading through the whole thing, please follow the advice of the last post, #8: Asking for help and post the information requested.