Page 1 of 1

No "First Start Wizard" on Installing Win 10 guest on MacOS host

PostPosted: 16. Mar 2019, 23:54
by Deac
I apologize for the rookie question, brand new to VirtualBox.
New Install of VirtualBox 6.0, I created new vm for Windows 10 and tried to start it so I could install Windows 10 from mounted DVD. I made several attempts some using VDI and some VHD but the error is the same.

The UserManual says
"When a VM is started for the first time, the First Start Wizard, is displayed. "

but instead I get the two attached error dialogs.

What did I miss on creating my vm image so that I didn't get the First Start Wizard?
.

Re: No "First Start Wizard" on Installing Win 10 guest on MacOS host

PostPosted: 17. Mar 2019, 00:41
by BillG
If you look at the optical drive of your vm, it says that it is empty. You may have mounted a DVD somewhere, but the vm cannot see it.

You need to tell the vm that you want to use the physical DVD drive of the host in the vm. There should be an option to do that in the vm settings.

Re: No "First Start Wizard" on Installing Win 10 guest on MacOS host

PostPosted: 17. Mar 2019, 01:01
by Deac
Thanks very much for the help. I was able to add the ISO of the Windows Install image as the first optical drive and change the boot order to optical drive first.

But still the same error messages. I'm still missing something, any ideas?
.

Re: No "First Start Wizard" on Installing Win 10 guest on MacOS host

PostPosted: 17. Mar 2019, 10:50
by andyp73
The error says that the kernel extensions needed by VirtualBox aren't installed. There is a thread on Installation fails on 10.13.x, 10.14.x (rc=-1908). I would start by reading that thread and following the guidance there.

-Andy.

Re: No "First Start Wizard" on Installing Win 10 guest on MacOS host

PostPosted: 19. Mar 2019, 15:26
by socratis
Moving to "OSX Hosts" from "Windows Guests". The problem that you're seeing is an improper VirtualBox installation, just like Andy said. You simply ignored the "Installation error" and you decided to actually run VirtualBox without investigating what in the seven kingdoms that error might have been...