[Solved] Inaccessible Windows because of duplicate GA ISOs

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.
greenie1

[Solved] Inaccessible Windows because of duplicate GA ISOs

Post by greenie1 »

First of all, I'm a novice at this, so please have patience with my fumbling around. I have been using VBox with Windows 7 attached for several months. It has worked admirably. Yesterday I installed the update, 5.1.18. When I rebooted VBox, I received the following message:

Cannot attach medium'/Applications/VirtualBox.app/Contents/MacOS/VboxGuestAdditions.iso {ee078daa-01d1-4b16-a9d9-05d847710e77}: medium is already associated with the current state of machine uuid {f6d0d55e-1c1c-4737-a402-5569d2548fc}!.

Result Code: VBOX_E_OBJECT_IN_USE (0x80BB000C)
Component: Medium Wrap
Interface: IMedium {4afe423b-43e0-e9d0-82e8-ceb307940dda}

After reading similar issues on this forum, I checked Virtual Media Manager and found out that I have two GA ISOs. The Release button is grayed out. When I hit the Remove button, it only removes it while i'm in that screen. When I go back to the VBox program, the ISO copy is still there. Please help this old man figure this out. Many thanks.
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Inaccessible Windows because of duplicate GA ISOs

Post by mpack »

You should either remember to eject media that might change before taking a snapshot, or better yet stop using snapshots.

Look for the .vbox file in the VM folder, zip it up and post the zip here.
greenie1

Post by greenie1 »

Thanks for your response. How do I upload the zipped file to this post? (As I indicated, I'm a novice here.)
mpack
Site Moderator

Post by mpack »

You obviously know how to post, so next time you do it just notice the "Upload attachment" tab below the text entry box. You browse to select the zip file, then click "Add the file" to attach it.
Attachments
Image1.png
Image1.png (6.9 KiB) Viewed 1836 times
greenie1