Cannot paste from Guest Windows 7 to Host Mac

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.
SMXSteve

Cannot paste from Guest Windows 7 to Host Mac

Post by SMXSteve »

I've been using Virtualbox on my MacBook for a few years now. I never had a problem copying from the Virtualbox guest Windows 7 applications like Word into any app on the MacBook side. Since the last two Virtualbox updates it doesn't work. Paste shows up in the dropdown on the Mac side but nothing comes from the clipboard. I have to copy the text into Notepad on the Windows guest then copy from there again to get it to work. I even have trouble copying a URL out of IE and pasting it into Safari. Seems to work fine from Mac to guest Windows.

Any ideas how to fix this?

Yes I have ran the latest updates including guest additions and Shared Clipboard is Bidirectional.

Thanks
Steve
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Cannot paste from Guest Windows 7 to Host Mac

Post by socratis »

For future reference, "current version", "latest version", "previous version" don't (generally speaking) provide accurate information. In a couple of months the "current" will definitely be different. It's better if you use the complete version numbers (including the build numbers) to identify software:
  • "OSX" isn't enough, "OSX 10.9.5 build 13f1911" is much better.
  • "Win10" isn't enough, "Win10 1607, build 14393.969" is much better.
  • "Ubuntu" isn't enough, "Ubuntu 16.04, 4.4.0-59-generic #80-Ubuntu SMP" is much better.
  • "The latest VirtualBox" isn't enough, "VirtualBox 5.1.22 r115126" is much better.
So, please be accurate when you're describing your installed software versions.
SMXSteve wrote:I never had a problem copying from the Virtualbox guest Windows 7 applications like Word into any app on the MacBook side.