No Host-only options in Preferences

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.

No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby htor » 13. Nov 2017, 01:06

I'm trying to set up a host-only network for two guest OSes, but when I go to Virtualbox > Preferences > Network I only see the "NAT Networks" tab but no "Host-only Networks" tab (screenshot #1). There should be an option for that, but it's not there. I can't create an host-only therefore select anything in the drop-down list for host-only adapter on the respective guest OSes (screenshot #2).

MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Mid 2014)
macos version: 10.11.6
virtualbox version: 5.2.0 r118431 (Qt5.6.3)

#1
Image

#2
Image
htor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11. Nov 2017, 19:50

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby mpack » 13. Nov 2017, 10:51

Asked and answered several times. Please look/search before posting.

This tool is moved in 5.2.0. Look on the main UI toolbar, specifically the "Global Tools" split button on the right.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 26567
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby htor » 15. Nov 2017, 01:51

Thanks for clearing that up. I actually searched / looked but didn't find it! The decision to move that setting out of the 'Network' settings was a wicked UI-decision.
htor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11. Nov 2017, 19:50

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby mpack » 15. Nov 2017, 10:54

htor wrote:The decision to move that setting out of the 'Network' settings was a wicked UI-decision.

Hmm. I think a good time to comment on that would have been during the long beta test period of 5.2.0.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 26567
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby hopeseekr » 12. Mar 2018, 17:27

I am having this same problem. I came in from Google. Telling others to "search the Forum" is *so* not helpful.

----

For those who come after me: In a huge, currently undocumented, UI shakeup, in 2018 you have to go File -> Host Network Manager. There you will find the option to add a Host-Only network (the default).
hopeseekr
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 12. Mar 2018, 17:26

Re: No Host-only options in Preferences

Postby socratis » 12. Mar 2018, 17:33

hopeseekr wrote:Telling others to "search the Forum" is *so* not helpful.

1) That was not the only thing the OP was told.
2) It obviously is helpful because you found it by searching. :shock:
3) Registering just to say that a previous comment was not helpful? I wonder how many are going to register based on your comment alone...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 15192
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to VirtualBox on Mac OS X Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: socratis and 12 guests