VERR_ACCESS_DENIED after working fine yesterday

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.
spw

VERR_ACCESS_DENIED after working fine yesterday

Post by spw »

My VM Windows 7 won't start after it opened fine yesterday.
the message says: VD: error VERR_ACCESS_DENIED opening image file " "..
Result Code:
NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component: MediumWrap
Interface: IMedium {4afe423b-43e0-e9d0-82e8-ceb307940dda}

my VM is connected to an external harddrive which, I have unmounted before trying to launch. does anyone know what the issue is? does it have to do with the permissions? how do i check that? I am new to the commands in terminal so i don't know what to type in
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: VERR_ACCESS_DENIED after working fine yesterday

Post by socratis »

spw wrote:which, I have unmounted before trying to launch.
I really hope that this is a typo and you really meant "I have mounted".

Find where you keep your VM. The easiest way to find it is by right-clicking on the VM in VirtualBox Manager and selecting "Show in Finder". Open up Terminal. Then from the Terminal post the output of the command:
  • ls -alRe@ "<Your_FULL_VM_path>"
And please do not chop up the paths or any other information, like you did with the error message. Otherwise we'd know by now your VM's full path...
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
spw

Post by spw »

i am omitting the Username and will put in "USERNAME" here but when i put it into terminal it has the real name of the user.

here is what followed:

Code: Select all

USER-NAMEs-MacBook-Pro:~ USERNAME$ ls -alRe@ /Users/USERNAME/VirtualBox\ VMs/Laptop/Laptop.vbox