Error in starting VM after upgrading to Sierra

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.
nobitachan88

Error in starting VM after upgrading to Sierra

Post by nobitachan88 »

After upgrading my OS X from 10.10.5 to Sierra, I got error messages when trying to switch on my VM in VirtualBox.
I am not sure if there is a way around it or have I already lost my VM?
Alternatively I am thinking whether it is possible export my VM, re-install VirtualBox, and then import it back.
Any help is appreciated, thanks!
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Error in starting VM after upgrading to Sierra

Post by socratis »

nobitachan88 wrote:I got error messages
Care to share? With full and complete details. And full versions of host, guest, VirtualBox version. I'm not that good at guessing.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
nobitachan88

Post by nobitachan88 »

Error messages:
The virtual machine "xxx" has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1).
VirtualBox VM terminated unexpectedly.
Host: Before (OSX 10.10.5) Current (MacOS 10.12.1)
Guest: Windows 7 64 bit
VirtualBox version: 4.3.28

I would tend to think installing a newer version of Virtual Box is the best way to go.
I'm assuming if I do so I won't lose my current VM?
Last edited by socratis on 5. Dec 2016, 08:45, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary verbatim quote of the whole previous message.
socratis
Site Moderator

Post by socratis »

nobitachan88 wrote:VirtualBox version: 4.3.28
That's way too old for 10.12.
nobitachan88 wrote:I would tend to think installing a newer version of Virtual Box is the best way to go.
Absolutely.