OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.

OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby veedee-Eyes » 23. Oct 2013, 19:25

After installing OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged network does not function.
Receiving error;

Failed to open a session for the virtual machine CentOS-5.10-x86_64-Server.

Failed to open/create the internal network 'HostInterfaceNetworking-en0' (VERR_SUPDRV_COMPONENT_NOT_FOUND).

Failed to attach the network LUN (VERR_SUPDRV_COMPONENT_NOT_FOUND).

Result Code: NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component: Console
Interface: IConsole {db7ab4ca-2a3f-4183-9243-c1208da92392}
[ veeDee-Eyes ]
VirtualBoxImages.com and OVFAppliances.com
Functional Open Source VirtualBox Virtual Disk Images
http://veeDee-Eyes.com
http://VirtualBoxImages.com
http://OVFAppliances.com
veedee-Eyes
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 27. Jan 2008, 05:51

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby Shawn.B » 23. Oct 2013, 22:38

Having same issue. Anybody have a solution?
Shawn.B
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 23. Oct 2013, 22:38

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby rpmurray » 23. Oct 2013, 23:03

rpmurray
Volunteer
 
Posts: 749
Joined: 3. Mar 2009, 00:29
Location: Between Heaven and Hell
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows Server 2003 SP2, Windows XP SP3, Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby ChipMcK » 24. Oct 2013, 05:28

ChipMcK
Volunteer
 
Posts: 604
Joined: 20. May 2009, 02:17
Location: U S of A
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby MonkeyBrush » 24. Oct 2013, 10:06

I upgraded to Virtual Box 4.3 and this fixed my problem with bridged adaptors on Mavericks.
MonkeyBrush
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 24. Oct 2013, 10:02

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby Shawn.B » 24. Oct 2013, 23:42

Reinstalling VB 4.3 seems to have fixed the problem for me. Thanks.
Shawn.B
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 23. Oct 2013, 22:38

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby jhelling » 25. Oct 2013, 00:17

Reinstalling ... what about registered vm's ? and ... saved vm's ... will I loose these with the uninstall/reinstall process?
jhelling
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 7. Aug 2012, 11:29
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: 4.3

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby michaln » 25. Oct 2013, 11:30

jhelling wrote:Reinstalling ... what about registered vm's ? and ... saved vm's ... will I loose these with the uninstall/reinstall process?

No.
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 1246
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby TheBuzzer » 30. Oct 2013, 07:05

Third time I reinstall the VB 4.3.0 for this kind of issue!!
TheBuzzer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 29. Jan 2009, 10:17

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby peterma » 1. Nov 2013, 23:15

4.3 problem of no network on os x mavericks (without a re-install after a restart) was solved for me by installing 4.3.2 and setting promiscuous mode in network settings to "allow all".
peterma
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 1. Nov 2013, 23:12

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby scottcain » 21. Nov 2013, 00:06

Bridged networking still doesn't work for me. I'm running the current Mavericks release, and I've tried allowing apps downloaded from anywhere in the host os security settings, and setting the network adaptor to promiscuous mode (allow all) for the guest, and I've rebooted and reinstalled VirtualBox 4.3.2 several times and started with a fresh VM as well. When the Ubuntu 12.04 guest is booting, it pauses for a few minutes (waiting for a network connection) and then continues to boot without it. It works fine with NAT networking. This did work when I was running Snow Leopard a few weeks ago, and nothing has changed with the router. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks,
Scott
scottcain
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 23:58

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby socratis » 21. Nov 2013, 01:00

scottcain wrote:Bridged networking still doesn't work for me.

Is your Bridged network tied to your Airport card? If the answer is yes, try it with a cabled connection. If not, please try to post more details about the issue.
socratis
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby scottcain » 21. Nov 2013, 17:59

Ah, I missed where there is still a problem with wifi. That's quite a drag; is that something that's being worked on, or a fundamental problem that Apple broke and we need them to fix? It does work with a wired network, but that will rather significantly affect my work flow.

Thanks,
Scott
scottcain
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 23:58

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby socratis » 21. Nov 2013, 18:52

scottcain wrote:It does work with a wired network

That's good to know. +1 for me :)
scottcain wrote:or a fundamental problem that Apple broke and we need them to fix?

From the replies I've seen from other developers, it is the WiFi and Bridged combination that doesn't work 100%. I don't think it's Apple-specific... Are you sure that it was working with Snow Leopard? I can try it, because I'm still on SL (thank Zeus).

UPDATE: I did run an Ubuntu 12.04-32 with Bridged-only under SL with VB4.3.3 and WiFi access. I didn't notice any problems, but as I said, it is known that the combination is not always reliable, not that if fails. Were you able to get it to fail 100% under Mavericks?
socratis
Volunteer
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: OSX 10.9 Mavericks Bridged Network error

Postby scottcain » 21. Nov 2013, 19:48

OK, now I am baffled--bridged networking is working for me where for three days in a row it did not. I did futz with getting my wifi printer working, but as far as I know, I didn't "undo" anything that I didn't redo after I got the printer working. So it is working for me now--I guess I'll see how long it continues to work for me.

As a side note, I used VB on Snow Leopard, bridged networking over wifi for years without ever noticing a problem.
scottcain
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 23:58

Next

Return to VirtualBox on Mac OS X Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Daterp and 28 guests