Network Error... was working yesterday

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.

Re: Network Error... was working yesterday

Postby loukingjr » 13. Jun 2013, 02:48

Perryg wrote:Love to. You sending the Mac for my tests :wink:

LOL um, no? :D
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8809
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Re: Network Error... was working yesterday

Postby McJim2k » 20. Jun 2013, 21:15

Try reinstalling VB. I had upgraded OS X from 10.8 to 10.9 and had the exact same issue. Once I reinstalled VB, everything worked just fine.

I didn't try the uninstall tool or delete any files. I simply re-downloaded the VB DMG and ran the installer again. All of my VMs using Bridged networking fired right up. I was also able to enable Host Only networking again.
McJim2k
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 16. Jun 2013, 15:51

Re: Network Error... was working yesterday

Postby loukingjr » 20. Jun 2013, 21:33

McJim2k wrote:Try reinstalling VB. I had upgraded OS X from 10.8 to 10.9 and had the exact same issue. Once I reinstalled VB, everything worked just fine.

I didn't try the uninstall tool or delete any files. I simply re-downloaded the VB DMG and ran the installer again. All of my VMs using Bridged networking fired right up. I was also able to enable Host Only networking again.

Thanks. I will try that as soon as I get my iMac back from Apple. It's being modified.
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8809
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Re: Network Error... was working yesterday

Postby McJim2k » 26. Jun 2013, 20:01

FYI, reinstalling is only a temporary fix. As soon as I restart the computer I have the same issues again. Fortunately I don't restart much, but it can be annoying.
McJim2k
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 16. Jun 2013, 15:51

Re: Network Error... was working yesterday

Postby loukingjr » 26. Jun 2013, 20:48

McJim2k wrote:FYI, reinstalling is only a temporary fix. As soon as I restart the computer I have the same issues again. Fortunately I don't restart much, but it can be annoying.

ugh. I see what you mean. :roll: Luckily I can stick with NAT.
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8809
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Re: Network Error... was working yesterday

Postby vladimirku3n » 5. Oct 2013, 16:48

The same on OS X 10.9 Mavericks Gold Master:
VirtualBox works from fresh install unytil host reboot.
After host reboot, VB start giving above error.
After reinstall of VB, it works till host reboot.
vladimirku3n
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 5. Oct 2013, 16:43

Re: Network Error... was working yesterday

Postby Jabbslad » 6. Oct 2013, 14:14

OS X 10.9 Mavericks has deprecated the StartupItems mechanism for starting services on boot.

Until this is fixed it looks like VirtualBox's host-only networking is broken as per ticket: #8940.

This also means if you use Vagrant it will complain that it can't start boxes.

The temporary workaround is to create a Launch Daemon yourself. This Launch Daemon will call the old StartupItems script.

1.) Create a 'virtualbox.plist' file in '/Library/LaunchDaemons'. (Note: You will need to sudo to create the file).

2.) Add the following content to the file before saving it:-

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> 
<plist version="1.0"> 
    <dict>
        <key>Label</key>
        <string>virtualbox</string>
        <key>ProgramArguments</key>
        <array>
            <string>sh</string>
            <string>/Library/StartupItems/VirtualBox/VirtualBox</string>
            <string>restart</string>
        </array>
        <key>KeepAlive</key>
        <false/>
        <key>RunAtLoad</key>
        <true/>
    </dict>
</plist> 


3.) Run the following two commands so the Launch Daemon is auto-started when OS X boots:-

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
sudo chown root /Library/LaunchDaemons/virtualbox.plist
sudo launchctl load -w /Library/LaunchDaemons/virtualbox.plist


4.) Restart your machine to test (optional)

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
sudo shutdown -r now


Hopefully a fix will be issued soon, in the mean time this will mean you don't need to keep running 'sudo /Library/StartupItems/VirtualBox/VirtualBox restart' every time you restart your Mac.
Jabbslad
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 6. Oct 2013, 14:07

Previous

Return to VirtualBox on Mac OS X Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 34 guests