Error after running VM once.

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Mac OS X hosts.

Postby jhowk » 4. May 2008, 02:12

No issues with 1.6.0. Excellent!
jhowk
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 19. Sep 2007, 00:00
Primary OS: Ubuntu other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and All

Postby G. I. » 5. May 2008, 15:32

v1.6 still does it with 4GB RAM...

00:00:10.864 SUP: Loaded VMMR0.r0 (/Applications/VirtualBox.app/Contents/MacOS/../Resources/VirtualBoxVM.app/Contents/MacOS/VMMR0.r0) at 0x7ab4b060 - ModuleInit at 7ab564b0 and ModuleTerm at 7ab564f0
00:00:10.865 SUP: VMMR0EntryEx located at 7ab56df0, VMMR0EntryFast at 7ab567f0 and VMMR0EntryInt at 7ab56570
00:00:10.866 ERROR [COM]: aRC=0x80004005 aIID={d5a1cbda-f5d7-4824-9afe-d640c94c7dcf} aComponent={Console} aText={VM creation failed (GVMM).
00:00:10.866 VBox status code: -32 (VERR_INTERNAL_ERROR)} aWarning=false, preserve=false
00:00:10.875 Power up failed (vrc=VERR_INTERNAL_ERROR, hrc=0x80004005)

May 5 15:31:25 igMBP kernel[0]: VBoxDrvDarwinOpen: pid=8170 'VirtualBoxVM' pSession=0x6d6e410 rc=0
May 5 15:31:25 igMBP kernel[0]: SUPR0GipMap: returns 0 *pHCPhysGip=3b985000 *ppGip=0x2a5000 GipMapObjR3
May 5 15:31:26 igMBP kernel[0]: GVMMR0CreateVM: failed, rc=-32
G. I.
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 26. Oct 2007, 10:42

Postby bird » 5. May 2008, 17:03

The VERR_INTERNAL_ERROR is caused by having 4>GB of RAM and bad luck. This error might crop up at installation time as well as VM startup time. It will be fixed in 1.6.2.

The VERR_NO_MEMORY error is something different that we haven't been able to reproduce in the labs yet.

Kind Regards,
bird
bird
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 10. May 2007, 10:27

Postby Buckyjunior » 5. May 2008, 19:03

bird wrote:The VERR_INTERNAL_ERROR is caused by having 4>GB of RAM and bad luck. This error might crop up at installation time as well as VM startup time. It will be fixed in 1.6.2.


That would be great! I'm currently running 5GB of RAM, which is less than 1/3 of what I eventually expect to install. VirtualBox is still happily humming along on my 2GB Mini.

Thanks bird!

Bucky
Buckyjunior
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 20. Apr 2008, 21:28

Postby bjvetter » 6. Jun 2008, 18:41

Is this issue with >= 4GB RAM only a MBP issue or does it happen on other host OSs as well?
bjvetter
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 6. Jun 2008, 15:07

Postby Buckyjunior » 6. Jun 2008, 22:17

bjvetter,

Since this seems to be the "...on Mac OS X Hosts" topic area, you may not get your answer here.

I've also got Virtual box on a Kubuntu Linux installation that runs well. It has only 2GB of RAM though so that's no help. A quick search on the forums didn't turn up any >2GB RAM issues, but that doesn't mean that there aren't any.

I use my additional RAM more than I use an alternate OS on my primary machine so . . . it shouldn't be difficult to guess what I've done here.

Bucky
Buckyjunior
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 20. Apr 2008, 21:28

Postby ZeB » 8. Jun 2008, 09:36

Problem fixed for me on my MacPro with 5G of RAM thanks to the new version 1.6.2 :)
ZeB
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 8. May 2008, 16:52

Postby Buckyjunior » 8. Jun 2008, 10:17

Yes, the version 1.6.2 seems to have also solved the problem of my MacPro having too much memory (5 GB). I was able to start up the Win2K virtual machine that I had created under 1.5.n. I haven't stress tested VirtualBox in this situation, but the initial problem seems to have been overcome.

A RedHat 9 VB didn't automagically start up, but then I can't say that it was properly installed in the first place.

Kudos to the VB team!

Bucky
Buckyjunior
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 20. Apr 2008, 21:28

Postby Mon1018 » 18. Jun 2008, 13:07

I got the information!!
Excellent information.Many thanks! :P
Mon1018
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 8. Mar 2008, 15:58

Worked for me too!

Postby gnushell » 8. Jul 2008, 22:13

Thanks for the tip.
gnushell
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 8. Jul 2008, 19:31

Previous

Return to VirtualBox on Mac OS X Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: granada29 and 25 guests