Page 1 of 1

upgrade to 2.1.2 now cant clone vdi's

PostPosted: 9. Feb 2009, 16:51
by legendgamesmaster
Hi all,
Just upgraded to 2.1.2 for intel osx, now i cant clone a vdi getting the following error: - any ideas guys?

this is the terminal output:

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Caliburn:~ andywarner$ VboxManage clonevdi "TopTrumpsPLACE.vdi" NewLG2.vdi
VirtualBox Command Line Management Interface Version 2.1.2
(C) 2005-2009 Sun Microsystems, Inc.
All rights reserved.

[!] FAILED calling a->virtualBox->OpenHardDisk2(src, srcDisk.asOutParam()) at line 369!
[!] Primary RC  = VBOX_E_IPRT_ERROR (0x80BB0005) - Runtime subsystem error
[!] Full error info present: true , basic error info present: true
[!] Result Code = VBOX_E_IPRT_ERROR (0x80BB0005) - Runtime subsystem error
[!] Text        = Could not get the storage format of the hard disk '/Users/andywarner/Library/VirtualBox/HardDisks/TopTrumpsPLACE.vdi' (VERR_FILE_NOT_FOUND)
[!] Component   = HardDisk2, Interface: IHardDisk2, {ed6e2525-c2fd-42a4-917a-7a9045ac9e15}
[!] Callee      = IVirtualBox, {339abca2-f47a-4302-87f5-7bc324e6bbde}


Anyone else have this issue?

some progress...

PostPosted: 9. Feb 2009, 22:14
by legendgamesmaster
Well, looks like others have had issues here. see http://www.virtualbox.de/ticket/3181 for one.

HOWEVER.... the fix seems to want the directory HardDisks which doesnt exist on my file path.

hmm.... Am I being thick:?: Prob! :shock:

Solved - filepath issue

PostPosted: 9. Feb 2009, 22:37
by legendgamesmaster
Ive solved this for me..

I need to run the command from the VirtualBox directory, and specify "VDI/<vdi name>"

It seems I can't run from VirtualBox/VDI directory.

What am I missing here?

Re: upgrade to 2.1.2 now cant clone vdi's

PostPosted: 28. Mar 2009, 12:46
by brubbel
I can confirm this for Ubuntu Hardy 8.04 (2.6.24-23-generic).
Running VirtualBox version 2.1.4, installed from the precompiled AMD64 debian package.

VBoxManage clonevdi .VirtualBox/VDI/XP4.vdi .VirtualBox/VDI/test.vdi
...
[!] FAILED calling a->virtualBox->OpenHardDisk2(src, srcDisk.asOutParam()) at line 369!


The workaround described above seems to work, though:

VBoxManage clonevdi VDI/XP4.vdi VDI/test.vdi
...
0%...10%...20%...30%...40%...50%...60%...70%...80%...90%...100%



Regards,